RSS

Life-Shaping One-Liners

27 Oct

I was thinking the other day about how much my life has been shaped over the six years I’ve been here at IHOP. The great part is that none of it has happened through large, complex, sweeping illustrations and arguments. It’s never a matter of “This teacher put together all those passages, read it through this lens, retold it with a certain kind of spin, and BAM! Suddenly I hang on his/her every word.” It’s a matter of simple, one-line statements that basically say, “Yep, the Bible actually means what it says when it says XYZ.”

When I’m in the middle of an emotional swirl, I don’t have the patience or brainpower to summon that fantastic six-point sermon. What I remember is that handful of words with the umph (and sometimes the “ouch”) behind it to pierce my own mental fog and keep me clinging to Biblical reality.

…I figure I’ve got a few more months of quoting them before I get to pull the preacher trick and just say, “It’s like I’ve always said…”

– I am loved by God, and I am a lover of God; therefore I am successful.

– God is not mostly mad or sad, but mostly glad.

– Love does not have to be mature before it’s real.

– There is a difference between weakness and rebellion.

– God’s correction is not God’s rejection.

– God will use the least severe means possible to bring the greatest number of people to the deepest level of love without violating anyone’s free will.

– Tithing: You can’t afford not to.

– We need a Judge.

What about you? What one-liners stick with you (IHOP or otherwise)? Please share in the comments. 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Life-Shaping One-Liners

  1. Dorean Beattie

    October 27, 2009 at 7:05 am

    -Press “delete” and move on.
    -Even a weak yes counts as a yes.

    a non-IHOP one:
    -God is able to do a perfect work through imperfect people.

     
  2. xristosdomini

    October 28, 2009 at 4:37 am

    Life is like a box of chocolates… so PIG OUT!

     
  3. Amanda

    October 28, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    This is great. Lots of wonderful reminders that we need to remind ourselves often! 🙂

    Some that have affected my life:

    “Faith is not a feeling.”

    “Keep the main thing the main thing.”

    “It’s all about You, Jesus. It’s not about me.”

     
  4. Adam Parker

    October 31, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Here are some other good ones:
    – It’s not about being perfect, it’s the pursuit of 100% obedience.

    – He enjoys us, even in our weakness.

    – God loves us in the way that God loves God.

    – The primary principle of intercession is simply to tell God what He tells us to tell Him.

    – We must encounter Jesus as Bridegroom, King and Judge.

    Or even just biblical one-liners like:

    “My house shall be called a house of prayer”

    “One thing have I desired of the Lord… to dwell in the house of the Lord, to behold the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in His temple.”

     
  5. chelseadavidson

    November 4, 2009 at 1:26 am

    “If you don’t quit you win”

     
  6. Christine

    November 5, 2009 at 8:28 am

    – His leadership is perfect.

    – When freedom gets closer, the chains begin to hurt. (Simplified Moltmann)

    – You enjoy me in the process of learning to love.

    – You enjoy me in the process of obedience. (Yes, those are stolen from an awesome chorus)

    – Love suffers long.

    – Flee Babylon!

    – Shoot the fox!

     
  7. Mrs. I.

    November 19, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Go low.

     
  8. Dorean Beattie

    November 19, 2009 at 10:16 am

    -Spiritual immaturity is not the same as rebellion.

     
  9. rujuta xavier

    September 25, 2010 at 6:18 am

    What I follow or try to follow in certain cases is

    GOD IS ALWAYS THERE, IT DEPENDS ON WHERE WE ARE LOOKING…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
