RSS

Tidbit: Misery Loves Company

06 Jun

Lately, I’ve been feeling the weight of a particular revelation. It’s not particularly long, but it’s worth a good selah or two. Since it’s my blog, I get to bring you lovely folks along with me on the ride (hence the title).

Recently, Mike Bickle spoke about how King David responded to mistreatment. (You can read about it here and/or download it here to listen to it). One of the big points he drove home was how it is unwise and unproductive to seek your own justice. We see this in the life of David when he refused to strike out in vengeance against Saul. David spared the man who was wrongfully seeking to kill him, saying “Let the LORD judge between you and me, and let the LORD avenge me on you. But my hand shall not be against you” (1Sam 24:12). Rather than seeking to clear our own name or fight our enemies ourselves, we need to hand the situation over to the Lord.

I could feel the weight of the message while I was listening. It was good. It was scriptural. I found it enjoyable and provoking. But in all honesty, I was listening from a slightly detached perspective.

I am not a naturally vengeful person. I have plenty of other issues, but I have never been one to retaliate against people. I have never really had to resist urges of violence or slander. I hate conflict, so naturally I hate causing or perpetuating it. I’m good at letting things go. That means Mike’s message was not very directly for me. Right? Wrong.

The Lord nudged my heart as I was listening, taking notes, and nodding at what a good message it was.  Basically, the good news is that I was right, I don’t seek my own justice through retaliation. The bad news is that I do seek my own justice through dismissal.

I don’t try to make things right by pushing back. I try to make things right by claiming that it wasn’t really a big deal in the first place. “No, really, it’s not like it’s the end of the world. It’s okay.”

Sometimes that’s a perfectly accurate statement to make. A lot of times it’s not. Sometimes, humility has to say, No, that wasn’t okay. It’s not okay if so-and-so speaks badly about me. It’s not okay if so-and-so rips me off financially. It’s not okay if so-and-so mistreats me, even if it was unintentional.

To say otherwise is not as overt as exacting revenge, but it’s still trying to make it right in my own strength. By dismissing it, I’m not giving the situation to the Lord; I’m sweeping it under the rug. Passivity does not equal meekness. Not by a long shot.

Meekness acknowledges the offense and acknowledges that it was serious and hurtful. Meekness also entrusts the Lord with the solution. This means we have to talk to Him about what we’re thinking and feeling. This means we have to bless the person who wronged us, knowing full well that they are… well, wrong. This means we forgive their offense, not just ignore it. This means we actually ask God to make it right in His way and in His timing.

Anyway, I’m still in the middle of this one, so I can’t offer any graceful conclusion or extensive experience. But now at least I have company. 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2009 in Heart Stuff, Intimacy with God

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Tidbit: Misery Loves Company

  1. helen

    June 7, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I am often challenged by Jesus, in His perfect meekness, driving the merchants out of the temple. I am often like you, and just sweep things under the rug, sometimes even letting pride rise up and complimenting myself on how ‘meek’ I was. Ugh. I need to know truth and to live real meekness. Yes.

    Good stuff Amanda 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
