RSS

Ark! Ark! Ark!

21 Feb

Great. First she drops off the face of the earth for two weeks, now she comes back talking like a seal.

Okay, so let me introduce this post with three points:

1) Schedule-wise, this has been one of my most insane months ever. I apologize for the lack of posting (which, for the record, I was about to call “postage”. Then I realized that meant something else).

2) I will finish writing my thoughts on my previous post (yes, I have in fact started). Hopefully that will be done soon.

3) “Ark”, although it is an effective seal noise, actually means something else in this context. I invite you to read on.

Mike Bickle spoke tonight (technically yesterday, 2/20) on pray-reading the names of Jesus in Revelation 1-3. He offered the acronym A.R.K. as a prayer list to help us meditate on this important passage of Scripture. The premise is simple. If we study these names and attributes of Jesus, searching out a million commentaries, and writing detailed theological papers — yet don’t actually come to Him and talk to Him — it doesn’t help us out at all (see John 5:39-40).

The thing I loved about ARK is that Mike tied it to two main truths about the name of Jesus: 1) It’s like an ark of safety, a refuge (Proverbs 18:10); 2) It’s like the ark of glory, the manifestation of the presence and majesty of God.

The acronym is simple:

AAgree. We simply agree with what we read about Jesus. This is the essence of worship — saying back to the Lord what He has revealed to us. For instance, “Jesus, You are the faithful witness.” Or, “Jesus, I believe that You are the faithful witness.”

R – Revelation. So often we muse over things, repeat them, and scratch our head about them, but don’t actually ask God to give us help. Every time we see an attribute of the Lord, there is tremendous weight and depth behind it. And since the greatness of God is unsearchable (Psalm 145:3), we can always ask for more. I don’t care if you’ve never prayed through the verse before, or if you’ve done it a hundred times. You haven’t exhausted it, I guarantee. i.e. “Lord, give me revelation on what it means that You are the faithful witness. Help me to understand how You speak the truth, no matter the cost.” etc.

K – Keep the prophecy. This comes from Revelation 22:7, “…Blessed is he who keeps the words of the prophecy of this book.” It’s the response we have not just to the commands of Jesus, but His nature and character. So you might pray something like, “Lord, I want to testify faithfully to the truth as You do.” Or, “Lord, I want to believe that every word You say is true. Help me.” etc.

I love this. It’s so down to earth and practical. It helps me remember to stop and actually take in what I’m reading. I would highly encourage you to go check out the notes here.

This works. There’s nothing magical about it. It’s simply a matter that we (and by that, I mainly mean myself) are so prone to forget to pray through the Word, that we need handy little acronyms and mnemonics to actually do it. ARK is a good one. 

And it’s not just limited to Revelation 1-3, either. My team applied it to Psalm 37 in our briefing tonight, reading how the psalm exhorts us to respond to the Lord, and then inferring what it says about Him. For instance, the Lord is trustworthy (37:3). He is faithful (also 37:3). He is delightful (37:4 — how can you “delight yourself in” something that isn’t delightful?).  He laughs at the plots of the wicked and is not threatened by them at all (37:13). We ended up with quite a long list. Needless to say, by the time we went out for our session, we were all buzzing.

Short story: DO IT! I think you’ll like it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2009 in Bible, Intimacy with God, Knowledge of God

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Ark! Ark! Ark!

  1. Christine

    February 25, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Yeah. That briefing that YOU led. That briefing that was amazing. With the fantastic application of the thing you had just learned.

     
  2. John Barker

    February 28, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Hi, I’m back! I will do it indeed. Hasn’t taken me too long to cahtch up on your blogs though, which I thought it might. I have some thoughts I want to bounce off of you later about Rev. 17,18 linked our Habakkuk discsussion, if you don’t mind.

    Blessings!!

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    February 28, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Yeah, I’ve been a little behind in the blogging world lately. Welcome back. 🙂

    I absolutely don’t mind; how about you email me those thoughts and I’ll get back to you ASAP.

     

Leave a Reply

 
