RSS

Takeaway Points from onething

02 Jan

In the post-conference aftermath as I’m crashed on my couch and fighting off a cold, I’ve been musing over the past few days. I thought I’d share some of my thoughts with you all. In no particular order, they are:

  • Sixteen thousand people is a whole lot of people. Especially for an introvert.
  • While working in the Welcome Center, I discovered that making conversation with strangers is a whole lot easier when it is done in the context of service and ministry. This does not mean that I have the excuse to only make conversation at a conference — instead, that means I really need to change how I think about day to day life and conversations.
  • Susan (danseuse) is a really lovely person. 🙂 It was great to meet her!
  • Chewy fruit snacks are remarkable pick-me-ups.
  • The eSchool is relevant to a whole lot of people from a whole lot of different walks of life. I heard a lot of amazing stories while I was working at that booth.
  • The IHOP-KC staff are fantastic coworkers with servant hearts and good attitudes.
  • Serving like crazy at a conference can lead to an inexplicable tenderness. I cannot otherwise account for how much my heart went out to the street vendors who charged me $4.00 for a soggy cheeseburger while repeatedly trying to get me to upgrade to a combo. What should have been a really frustrating situation just endeared me to these guys and made me pray for them.
  • Bartle Hall smells like cement dust.
  • It takes 1) a lot of guts and 2) a very tender heart to openly weep in front of 16,000 people. Mike Bickle has both, which is yet one more reason I really look up to that guy.
  • Prayer works. Despite all the prophetic bombshells being dropped by our speakers at the conference, I did not hear from even one conference attendee who was defensive or angry about what was being said. Everyone was incredibly hungry, excited, and grateful for the messages. While I was marveling at that, the Lord reminded me that IHOP-KC has been praying for this event for some months now. Oh yeah, that prayer thing. It really makes a difference, huh?
  • The attendants at the parking garage off of Broadway are phenomenally nice people.
  • If you want to stand out and be remembered in a crowd of 16,000 people, try wearing your hair in a foot-long mohawk, spiked into five sections, and dyed in colors that match your pants. It worked for one of our conference goers.
  • Sarah Sun Kim is probably super-human. She’s definitely on my personal list of heroes, at any rate.
  • The bookstore workers are probably super-human, too. As well as the media team. And the onething team… I guess I’d better just say that my fellow intercessory missionaries are just awesome people. I know I’ve said that once already but it bears repeating.
  • An exercise in self -control: Work in an area where you have to stare directly at the Dippin’ Dots cart for 6+ hours every day, and try not to buy any. (Hey, succeeding three out of four days isn’t bad.)
  • The prayer movement is way, way bigger than IHOP-KC. The number of booths I saw and people I met from other prayer gatherings all over the world blew my mind.
  • Stuart Greaves is one of the clearest voices on the subject of justice I have ever heard. Read up on his Wednesday night message here.
  • My body does not enjoy standing up on concrete for hours at a time, but it can be done. And it’s totally worth it if it means helping out people who want to know about the NightWatch School of Ministry.
  • I really like getting to meet my friends’ parents when they’re in town, and I always enjoy seeing Holly, Barb, and Anita.
  • onething conferences are always a ton of work; IHOP staff give 110%, and it throws a massive hitch in our normal routines. But it is always tremendously edifying to me and I always walk away happy that we do it. I can think of no better way to ring in the New Year.
 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Takeaway Points from onething

  1. brianbeattie

    January 2, 2009 at 9:54 am

    OneThing08 was terrific, powerful, lifechanging – even from 1000 miles away via the webstream.

    I heartily agree about Stuart G’s views on justice. I would have enjoyed one more hour from him just on developing the consequences of making social justice a government job instead of a church mission…

    About dippin’ dots. Did you indulge on day one or day four? Full credit for resisting until you gave in. Their advertising and display is so stinking attractive, but the very few times I’ve given in, I am immediately and powerfully reminded that they aren’t really that intersting. Gimme DQ soft-serve every time.

     
  2. Susan

    January 2, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Well, I think the whole staff, including you, must be superhuman. I also thought you were a lovely person. I really wanted to come back and talk to you but I didn’t want to hoard your time since I am already sold on IHOP and on my way! I hope I will get to know you better when I get there this summer–despite the totally opposite schedules!

     
  3. John Barker

    January 2, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    I want to thank all of you who have labored in both intercesson and physical work to see this thing go. The overall impact has been incredible. I want to thank you guys as well for making so much of Onething ’08 available free of charge. I was going to buy the webcast anyway, but it sure saved us some needed money around the holidays. And the resouces such as outlines, videos of the fcf & egs services leading up to the conference adn Mike’s podcasts. It has given me greater clairity on what we are doing in the prayer movement and helped to further define the context in whcih I am building our HOP. From the bottowm of my heart, thank you to you all.

    I don’t know if my group ever made it over to see you Amanda, I forgot to ask, but I know they are coming away marked by God. I know at least two of them made the Nazerite vow, and thier fires are burning brighter than before tehy went. Thanks again! Blessings!!

     
  4. Dorean Beattie

    January 2, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    This was my first time of getting to see the entire conference. I honestly don’t know how you guys do it. I was exhausted by the end of it, just from the concentrating and note taking. I can’t imagine actually working during the whole thing.

    Then today, I was reminded again how awesome and humble you guys are. I logged onto the Prayer Room streaming, and there were the same people I saw on stage in front of 16,000 people leading worship looking like big, international famous people, sitting in the humble prayer room, doing exactly what they did last week like nothing has changed. Awesome…

     
  5. anita

    January 2, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    it is ALWAYS good to see you and good to read you!! Stuart was incredible; that message was crystal in its clarity. I have always respected him but seriously he looked about 15 feet tall giving that message. Apostolic Preaching at its finest- ok the begining of its finest!
    Some of those 12 year olds will really blow us away in 20 years.

    So blessed to see how hard everyone works and see the humility they exhibit, especially those whom we would make celebrities.

    May God Bless you richly!

     
  6. Kacie

    January 10, 2009 at 10:50 am

    i’m just thankful i was nowhere near that dippin’ dots booth. i’m a sucker for utterly frozen ice cream… none of that melty stuff for me! on top of being pregnant, i’d have been melty myself, in the knees, for some ice cream of the future… like daily… at least once…

     
  7. theothergabriel

    January 11, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Well said. This conference taught me more about Jesus the Servant than any other single event of my life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
