RSS

Amazing New Website Toy

19 Dec

Okay, this is one of the greatest things I’ve found to play with in a long time.

Go to www.typealyzer.com, enter a blog URL in the appropriate box, and it will tell you what the author’s writing personality is — or in other words, what the tone of the blog is like. They’re running off of the Myers-Briggs system, in which my most recent test came out as an INFJ.

I really enjoy personality tests, so I ran it on this blog via my main URL (https://amandabeattie.wordpress.com). The result came back as an ESFP (the Performer).

This made me laugh really hard.

If you’ve spent much time with me in person, you might be laughing right now, too. But even if you haven’t met me before, you’ll notice above that my real personality type is almost diametrically opposite to how Typealyzer pegged me.

I found this very interesting, but before I fully began reveling in how thoroughly my writing style bamboozled Typealyzer, I took into consideration that my blog is a fairly random mish-mash of serious posts and goofy ones. I also took into consideration that by scanning https://amandabeattie.wordpress.com, Typealyzer would have seen just the snippets of each post before the “More…” button. So of course, the next logical step for someone like me who really enjoys quirky, somewhat nerdy pursuits, is to begin running individual posts through Typealyzer to see what happens. Here are a few of the results:

And now the only slightly-obsessively nerdy thing left to do is to try and figure out how in the world Typealyzer is coming up with these results. Of course, I think I sound like myself all through my blog because — well — I wrote it. But obviously I’m not going to write about attacking an overgrown weed with a kitchen knife (ESFP) in the same way I write about the Lord’s terrifying zeal for his little ones (INFP). And Typealyzer, though admittedly still in beta, is recognizing that something is different about those two posts.

So I’m trying to see a pattern here. Length of post? Length of paragraphs or sentences? Key words? Number of pictures? Precision in punctuation/spelling?

Most of my silly posts are coming back as ESFP (the Performers)… which, I guess, is a pretty good thing, since I would hope to entertain my readers with such posts (rather than bore them to tears). My serious posts are a little more split, though they seem to lean more heavily towards INTP (the Thinkers).

I’m thoroughly entertained. I also would really love to hear in the comments what your blog is coming back as (or even other people’s blogs that you follow), and if you have any theories on what kind of stuff Typalyzer is reading.

Fun fun. If you’ll excuse me, I’m about to go look up some more websites…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2008 in Random

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Amazing New Website Toy

  1. John Barker

    December 19, 2008 at 1:34 am

    OK, Zack Hensley’s blog came back as this; INFP – The Idealists
    “The meaning-seeking and unconventional type. They are especially attuned to making sure their beliefs and actions are congruent. They often develop a passion for the arts or unusual forms of self-expression.

    They enjoy work that are aligned to their deeply felt values and tend to strongly dislike the more practical and mundane forms of tasks. They can enjoy working alone for long periods of time and are happiest when they can immerse themselves in personally meaningful projects.”

    Which, not knowing Zack other than his blogging, it’s is not fair for me to make any serious call on. But this seems to be fitting to some degree.

    The next blog I follow religiously is David Sliker’s, “His hand is on the door.” Again, not knowing David other than a little over a years worth of blogging, (and a fair amount of his teaching and preaching) I can safely say it nailed him.
    This is the result (except the last part of their definition, I cannot say I would know that or would even say that if I did)

    INTP – The Thinkers; “The logical and analytical type. They are especially attuned to difficult creative and intellectual challenges and always look for something more complex to dig into. They are great at finding subtle connections between things and imagine far-reaching implications.

    They enjoy working with complex things using a lot of concepts and imaginative models of reality. Since they are not very good at seeing and understanding the needs of other people, they might come across as arrogant, impatient and insensitive to people that need some time to understand what they are talking about.”

    This is fun. have you ever noticed how much time can be sucked up by your computer???

     
  2. Wine Blog

    December 19, 2008 at 3:17 am

    They gave me that one too! – ESFP (the Performer).I guess maybe it’s tru since I write a wine blog.

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    December 19, 2008 at 3:52 am

    That’s so interesting — Myers-Briggs has both DS and ZH as fairly close to what Typealyzer came up with. I’m really curious now as to why mine are so random and most of them are not even close… 😀

     
  4. brianbeattie

    December 19, 2008 at 8:08 am

    I checked a few of my favorite bedtime stories and got back ESFP as well.
    My most recent post, “In The Land of Skee” rated “ISFP – The Artists”
    My post “Just for Christine” came back as “ESTP – The Doers”.
    I wonder which of my personalities was manifesting then?

    I guess I’ll cling to my constants, S and P.

     
  5. Dorean Beattie

    December 19, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    My first blog “Life Inside My Head” came out ESPF, the Performers. I followed your idea and put various single entries into the Typealizer and they pretty much spread over the whole spectrum of the deal. I ran quite a few of them, and discovered that almost all of the goofy posts I tried came out as the Performers, which, as you say, is probably a good thing!

    One thing I thought was interesting was the wording on the typealizer: “Note: writing style on a blog may have little or nothing to do with a person´s SELF-PERCEIVED personality.” Wow. In other words, “our machine will know you better than you know yourself”. That seems like a pretty egotistical claim, except that I tried to Typealyze my second blog, “Captured by Light”, and was told it couldn’t analyze that blog, since they only do English and Swedish, and “Captured by Light” is written in Thai. Now THAT’S random! I didn’t even know I knew Thai. 🙂

     
  6. xristosdomini

    December 21, 2008 at 5:32 am

    My blog came out with an ESTP…

    My friend’s blog came out as an ISTP…

    I think the machine is trying to tell me something…

     

Leave a Reply

 
