RSS

THIS IS NOT SPARTAAAAAAAAAA!!

05 Dec

…but it is the 300th post on this blog, so of course a Sparta joke had to come up somewhere.

A celebratory post is definitely in order. But three hundred is kind of a big number to do the list thing — I’m not sure anyone is interested in a list of three hundred things I’m thankful for, or three hundred things I’ve learned while blogging, or three hundred of my favorite quotes, etc. I think I would probably get bored reading it myself. Lists are fun, though, so I flipped things around a bit and decided to make a list about cool things about the number 300.

  • Since I titled this post with an unforgivably bad pun about a movie I’ve never seen and have no intention of seeing, I figure I’d better make amends by starting out saying that “the Three Hundred” is the name given to the Spartans who fought at the Battle of Thermopylae. But you probably knew that already.
  • Christine probably knew this already: 300 is a triangular number. It is also the sum of two twin primes (149+151) and is the sum of 10 consecutive primes (13 + 17 + 19 + 23 + 29 + 31 + 37 + 41 + 43 + 47). It is also now one more reason I very much enjoy Wikipedia.
  • 300 is a perfect score in bowling.
  • CCC is pretty fun in Roman numerals.
  • Three hundred miles is roughly the distance between me and Wakeeney, KS.
  • Noah’s Ark was three hundred cubits long.
  • Jim Palmer, a Major League pitcher, gave up exactly 300 home runs during his career — but not one of them was a grand slam.
  • Three hundred is the number of soldiers Gideon could take against the Midianites.
  • Samson tied torches to three hundred foxes and set them loose in the Philistine fields.
  • 300 miles high is the average orbital distance of space shuttles. It is also the name of a pretty cool website that features photography form those orbits.
  • This guy spent 300 hours building a record-setting penny pyramid. I didn’t even know penny pyramids were a competitive thing. Or more accurately, I didn’t know they were a real thing at all.
  • As of the year 2002, the world record for a group skydive was 300 people.
  • Three hundred different movie sets were built for the Lord of the Rings trilogy.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “THIS IS NOT SPARTAAAAAAAAAA!!

  1. brianbeattie

    December 5, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Isn’t your IQ about 300?
    Congrats on the milestone. I love your blog.

     
  2. Dorean Beattie

    December 5, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I think Christine must be contagious. The math stuff was my favorite from your list… Although, I did love the link to the photos from space. Congrats on your accomplishment. By the way, how’s the poem?

     
  3. Mrs. I.

    December 9, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Love the snow!! : )

     
  4. Christine

    December 10, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Yeah, that math stuff was fantastic!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
