RSS

Four reasons I am really happy right now

29 Nov

Observe the happiness.

img000036

Okay, so maybe it’s kind of hard to observe, but that’s because I’m busy downing the contents of that coffee cup, which leads me to the first thing that’s making me really happy:

Reason #1: Higher Grounds is making drinks with egg nog again. Which means I get to order my absolute favorite steamed beverage of all time (which must be taken in small doses so as not to completely sugar out and die): Egg nog spiced chai. In days long gone by this stuff was called “Christmas in a Cup”, because that’s exactly what it tastes like. Each year, there are usually a few new baristas who look at me strangely when I order this, but that’s obviously because they haven’t tasted the glory. Either that, or they don’t like egg nog, in which case my heart goes out to them. If you are in the KC area and like egg nog, and you also like spiced chai, you must come to Higher Grounds and try the two together. Trust me. If you are not in the KC area, this is just one more reason to come and visit.

Reason #2: As seen in the above picture, I have a new sweater. You can’t really see it past the yummy chai amazingness, but it’s a great sweater. For those reading who may not grasp how truly exciting this is, let me just say that all but one of my current sweaters are 5-8 years old, have stretched out funny, and smell like storage. Yes. New sweater = very happy day. Thank the Lord for a black Friday deal that I didn’t have to bust any doors to get. I actually have two new sweaters, but it seemed like it would be silly to wear both at once.

Reason #3: As seen in the above picture, I am at Higher Grounds. I’m here to put in some more work on the study guides that we are developing for our Distance Learning courses with IHOP-U. It has been fun to work on, but the biggest reason I’m happy is that it looks like I will be able to have the Excellencies of Christ study guides done by the deadline — which hasn’t always looked so likely. It’s crunch time, but I do believe I’m going to make it.

And in case anyone was wondering, yes, this is exactly why I haven’t been writing much on this blog. I’ve been pecking away at one more post on Daniel 4 that I hope to have done within a few days.

Reason #4: God is really good. Yes, it’s a Sunday School answer, but it’s true. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2008 in Life Happens...

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Four reasons I am really happy right now

  1. Mrs. I.

    November 29, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Egg nog spiced chai?!?! Talk about being right up my alley!! Wish I were there – we could have an egg nog spiced chai tea party!! : )

     
  2. Joseph Redmond

    November 30, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Egg Nog is not my favorite but I do enjoy the Higher Grounds baristas are amazing and I really like my espresso, so I can understand I just have to mentally put one of their wonderful breve latte in my hand. Oh and they are usually so nice to me as to put it into their mugs. There is something about drinking out of a nice mug instead of a paper cup.

    And that is awesome that you are happy with just a sweater. I mean there are those out there who will trample and kill people in front of them to get the deal on a big screen tv and I bet they are not even as happy as you are with a sweater.

    Oh and isn’t God good. Your posts make me happy…

     

Leave a Reply

 
