RSS

Obama is not the Antichrist, just a barometer.

23 Aug

It seems I have again slipped into a bit of political commentary. I have an intense dislike for politics. I am more convinced than ever that the only way this country will be fixed is its citizens doing a lot of prayer and God responding by sending revival. We do need to do our part to vote godly people into office, and yes, there is a definite place for Christian activism, but ultimately this battle will be won in prayer closets and solemn assemblies, not at the voting booth. 

Anyway, my opinions being what they are, I have been keeping up with the presidential race pretty minimally, learning only enough to tell me how to vote and how to pray. But I saw an article the other day that caught my attention.

“An Antichrist Obama in McCain Ad?” (TIME Magazine)

Basically, the article is not very delicately suggesting that one of John McCain’s ads is trying to link Barack Obama to the Antichrist. I don’t have a TV, so I haven’t seen this ad myself. I’m (obviously) not on the advertising panel for McCain’s campaign, so I don’t know what they were thinking when they put the thing together. But the TIME article suggests that there may be a link between the ad in question and several Christian emails and web articles claiming that Obama could be the Antichrist.

Is he the Antichrist? I don’t believe for a second that he is. Not by a long shot. However, I do think he is a cultural barometer of sorts, one that should raise little red flags for those of us who believe the End Times are real. But I didn’t need McCain’s advertisers to make a mock-messiah commercial for me to see the connection. It was seeing how Obama himself campaigned.

The day of the Missouri primaries, I found my Kiwi roommate on the Internet, looking up various things about the candidates and the political process so she could be praying (because for some reason, if you’re from New Zealand, they don’t let you vote in the U.S. 🙂 ). She found a video online of one of Obama’s TV spots. Basically, there was a video clip of a speech he gave, interspersed with cutaway shots of people singing that speech, verbatim, back to the cameras. It looked so much like IHOP’s Harp and Bowl model that it freaked me out a little. Top it off with the repeated motto, “Yes, we can”, and I officially had the heebie-jeebies.

Again, I stress, I don’t think for a moment that Obama is the Antichrist. But as I watch how so much of our nation goes after this type of image and message, buying it hook, line, and sinker, it unnerves me greatly. Truth be told, there is a lot of messiah-like langauge surrounding his candidacy. Some of it is from Obama’s campaign, some of it is from those who are supporting him. Although it proves nothing about the man himself, it demonstrates quite a bit about the state of our nation. We are so poised and ready to follow a charasmatic, humanistic leader that it’s not even funny. The nation is just waiting for that one leader who can promise us utopia (of course without any acknowledgement of the God of Israel). The fact that Obama is making fairly utopian claims, and much of the US is responding with almost fanatical support, indicates to me that we as a country are one step closer towards ultimately embracing the “man of sin” (2Thes 2:3).

I will make no comment on the morals/qualifications of either candidate at this point. But I did want to point out that this hard-fought political battle is indicative of something far greater. This planet is steadily being propelled into the End Times, and the battle lines for the hearts of humanity are already being drawn. At least in this country, there is a huge number of people who actually want a messiah who represents nothing more than the pinnacle of human achievement. One day they’ll get him, and he’ll be far more winsome than Obama could ever be, yet he will also be devastating beyond anything the world has yet seen.

Until that day we need to fast, pray, and throw ourselves into the pursuit of God and the declaration of His name. We need to get settled in our heart now who our Savior is. We need to have clarity about what this earth really needs in order to be made new. To borrow and reverse Obama’s motto: “No, we can’t.” We haven’t been able to yet, and we never will be able to — planet-saving is out of our league. That’s the point, and it’s why we need a Deliverer who transcends our sinful rut of self-destruction.

We don’t need to pin antichrist labels on anyone at this point. But we DO need to know our God, and we need to know the hour in which we live.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2008 in Eschatology, Intercession, My Two Cents

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Obama is not the Antichrist, just a barometer.

  1. xristosdomini

    August 24, 2008 at 4:07 am

    Very true… People are anxious for a humanistic Messiah. While this is a lightly fresh change to be steadily drifitng away from the “it’s in every one of us” schlock like a fish caught in a current of month-old sewage, it doesn’t change the fact that we are stuck in a current of month-old sewage.

    People are searching desperately for something to point to as a symbol of how great we are… whether we end up point at an athlete, a dictator, a charismatic charlatan, or our own reflection, it all comes back to the whole Tower of Bable thing. I guess what I’m saying is that I’m starting to view the end-times as a “Tower-type trauma” on HGH… But then again, I’m becoming increasingly cynical of politics as this race continues, so I’m biased.

     
  2. drwasho

    August 24, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I think the title of your blog should win an award… brilliant!

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    August 24, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Thanks 😀

     
  4. Mark

    August 25, 2008 at 7:39 am

    A while back I heard someone say, “I’m so sick of carrying around all these credit cards. I wish someone could just put something on my hand that I could pay for everything with.”

    Yeah, the end is certainly near…

     
  5. brianbeattie

    August 25, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    You are too right, again! Great post, Amanda.

    I think it is intensely interesting how politicians have apparently concluded that the Christian demographic is dumb and easily manipulated. I think Christians earn this characterization by embracing impossible lies about what government can be. Government cannot be the church, and cannot do what the church should. Governments are enthroned by God, but seldom follow the Holy Spirit into God-honoring good works.

    Christians need to be on guard – the politicians are on to us. They are aware that we become confused into thinking we can accomplish by means of energetically pursued political tactics, when the only effective approach is to seek the God of creation in prayer. We must vote, we must advocate justice – but we become embassadors of a much better government when we focus on our First Great Commandment, and the Second which is like it…

     
  6. John Barker

    August 27, 2008 at 1:13 am

    I really like your thoughts on this. I agree that we are seeing some great indicators as to where we are heading and what time it is. think maybe you could find that link to the Obama spot you were talking about? As I was reading, I thought about what Mike teaches about the false prayer and worship movement that antichrist will have running counter to that of the Lord’s. The foreshadowing is indeed creepy.

    @ Brian- I think most of the church has earned that label you mention. We are alot like that vineyard that has been overgrown and our walls have been broken down so that anyone who passes by can come and take what they want. The more I hear of sober minded christian’s endorsing Obama, the more i know that the strong delusion tath is talked about in 2 Thess. 2 is beginning to be poured out on all who do recieve the love of the truth.

    I am with you on the deception we have swalloed as it relates to our government. Funny thing, as I was writing, it just occured to me the fact of our “recieving” the love of the truth. We have to get something that is not our nature to posess, or even in our nature. We have to get in the way of it and contend for it in our own lives to recieve it. “if your lift up your voice…. if you search for it like gold, yea as much fine gold….

     
  7. John Barker

    August 27, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Oh- I meant to say; all who do NOT receive the love of the truth….

     
  8. Scott

    August 27, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    He’s the Obamarometer.

    That kind of stuff should get me banned from the forum.)

     
  9. brianbeattie

    August 28, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha! Good one, Scott!

     
  10. kylegebhart

    September 3, 2008 at 9:19 am

    great post amanda – this ad really made me laugh, its obviously ‘tongue-in-cheek’ – so over the top with the whole moses thing; but the direction of politics and out nation is one of a full embrace of secular humanism and Obama is just another in a long line of proponents of that particular worldview.

     

Leave a Reply

 
