RSS

Weakness and Adrenaline Don’t Gel

11 Jul

So I was walking towards the coffee shop today at about 9:30pm. I had my computer bag over one arm and my purse, Bible, and water bottle in the other. I was just minding my own business when it happened. Something multi-legged and winged rammed into my right temple, right by my ear. Judging by the fact that I could hear wings FLAPPING — not buzzing, mind you, flapping, sounding like a bird — it was big.

Being the mature, calm, collected woman that I am, I did what any indoor-dwelling, pesticide-using, red-blooded person would do. I freaked out.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so unhindered by the weight of my computer bag before. Big heavy satchel or no big heavy satchel, I was swatting, shooing and clawing like I was carrying nothing at all. Miraculously I didn’t drop (or more like,”maniacally throw”) anything. Neither did I rip out my earring, although I was pretty close.

It was then that it hit me. Whooooaa……

Thought of any kind stopped. Motion of any kind stopped. I glazed over. Five seconds later I came back and wondered what exactly had just happened. I might have blacked out a little, but it was dark out anyway so I’m not sure. Praise the Lord I didn’t faint right there in the parking lot. That would have been embarrassing. I can just imagine waking up to a group of concerned people huddled around me, asking, “What happened? Are you all right?” and me replying, “Yeah… um, see, there was this bug…” 

So the moral of the story is that if you’re fasting, try not to let bugs run into you.

Oh yeah… and also, try not to find a small red bug crawling through your hair two minutes later. That’s not fun either.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2008 in Life Happens..., Random

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Weakness and Adrenaline Don’t Gel

  1. Dorean Beattie

    July 12, 2008 at 9:02 am

    So do you suppose that tiny little red bug you found in your hair is the same one that caused you to faint? That would be embarrassing….

    (heh heh)

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    July 12, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    I don’t think so. The one that ran into me was big and flappy. I’m not kidding when I say it sounded like bird’s wings… it was so weird. The one in my hair was small and buzzy.

     
  3. Dorean Beattie

    July 13, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Oo! What if the big flappy thing was an angel! Well, probably not… But it would be cool!

     
  4. brianbeattie

    July 13, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Not very comforting to think of an angel being like a big bug, and clumsey too.

     
  5. Christine

    July 14, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Actually, that would be hilarious if it was an angel. The angel tried to come with a message… but it was tiny… and having trouble getting your attention. So it got a little bit closer, but then it accidentally bumped into you, the above incidents took place, and the angel (feeling quite flustered, himself) went on his way. Almost two thirds of the fast are remaining. The angel might come back. 🙂

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    July 14, 2008 at 12:22 am

    So maybe I didn’t have a head rush, I just was in the Spirit?

     
  7. Christine

    July 14, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Seems reasonable to me. 🙂

     
  8. Dorean Beattie

    July 14, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    So do you suppose the angel was clumsy because he was fasting, too? Just doing the math, that whole “a day is like a thousand years” thing could make for some seriously long fasts!

     
  9. haybark

    July 14, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Much fasting hath made you all mad! You guys are hilarious.:) Gettin that fasting buzz, eh? Can’t imagie what it sounds like on day thirty ’round there.

     
  10. Adam Parker

    July 14, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I’ve got these little red bugs crawling all over these plants in our front yard. Freaky fellows.

     
  11. Ruth

    July 15, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    you should write a book or so one time, ur a good writer 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
