RSS

Lost and Found

17 Jun

I have a couple of posts percolating right now, but it’s difficult to say when they will actually surface on this blog. It seems like creative writing and I haven’t been getting along terribly well lately. (It’s the strangest thing… I think it’s giving me the silent treatment.) I do actually have some drafts saved, but time will tell…

At any rate, I received some inspiration tonight that I knew must be immediately attended to. The subject being: The lost and found in the IHOP-KC hallway.

Seeing that we have people coming and going 24/7, it makes a lot of sense to have a lost and found. Also considering that, depending on the day, people may be leaving the prayer room either a) euphoric with some kind of revelation, or b) bleary-eyed and spacey from trying to focus for six hours, it makes a whole lot of sense to have a way to reunite them with the stuff they forget to take with them. We of course have the assorted water bottles, reading glasses, coffee mugs (which we really shouldn’t be bringing in the first place), bibles, journals, and jackets. Not so much with the jackets now that it’s summer. But then again, we do still have plenty of people who bring hoodies, especially if they are going to sit on the frigid front row. Note for the the webstream or GOD TV viewers: If you see someone shaking gently on the very front row, it might not be the Spirit falling — it’s about an equal chance they’re just cold. Either way, do the brother/sister a favor and pray for God to send His fire.

Um. Anyway. The lost and found. 

The existence of the lost and found makes a lot of sense. What doesn’t make sense to me is some of the stuff that winds up stacked on its shelves.

Here are some of my favorites:

  • A one-gallon cooking pot.
  • A ladle, on a completely different day than the aforementioned pot.
  • Bread.
  • A four-square ball.
  • One of those giant stretchy rubber band exercise thingies. I can see it now: “Yeah, I’m goin’ to IHOP to get in some reps.”
  • Speaking of exercise — a medium sized resistance ball. No, I’m not kidding.
  • A drinking glass, which wouldn’t be that odd except that it was from my house. We intended to bring that up at the next house meeting. I don’t think we ever did. Don’t leave our dishes in the briefing room, gals.
  • A bobble-head doll, missing an arm, depicting some guy who plays for the Royals. The doll lives in the briefing room now.
  • One adult-sized shoe. Just one. I can see how anyone under the age of six might leave the prayer room without either or both of their shoes. But it baffles me that a grown person would walk in with two, walk out with one, and not notice the difference.
  • A Ziploc bag with part of a sandwich in it, the losing of which is not half as funny as the saving of it. Perhaps someone left it there to wait for them while they went in the prayer room.
  • An assortment of really amazing kids’ books, the most recent one being “There’s a Frog in the Sink!”, sporting giant googly eyes that poked all the way through the book.
  • And tonight’s find that prompted this post: a blackboard, two feet by three feet, complete with a little tray to hold the chalk, ready and waiting to be mounted on a kindergarten classroom wall… except it was in the lost and found. At IHOP. Which is clearly not a kindergarten classroom.

Any of my IHOP-KC fellows, please feel free to add to the list in the comments below. The more out-of-the-blue the item, the better. 😀

 
17 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2008 in Random

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Lost and Found

  1. brianbeattie

    June 17, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    I heard that a blog post like this spun out of control, and became eBay…
    I’m not sayin’, I’m just sayin’

     
  2. Dorean Beattie

    June 17, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I know for sure where the chalkboard came from, and am totally shocked that you don’t! Come on, Amanda… You remember homeschool, don’t you? “OK, kids! Mom is working the polls for the election tomorrow, so gather all your school work. We have to be in the car by 6:00 AM and won’t be home until bedtime. Bring extra assignments to do.” You mean to tell me you can’t see a little guy on the back row of the Prayer Room doing his math facts on a chalkboard while Mommy prayer for Mozambique? tut, tut…

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    June 17, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I figured it was probably homeschoolers, but still… a chalkboard? A notepad of scratch paper seems a heck of a lot more portable. And the fact that the thing was 2ft by 3ft seems like you would miss it if you left without it…

     
  4. Haybark

    June 18, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Yeah, been wondering what happened. The oxymoron thing kept taunting me every time I stopped in. I have had whole seasons whre I didn’t/couldn’t write a thing. The longest was like two years. Hope that isn’t the case.

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    June 18, 2008 at 2:52 am

    It had better not be the case, since one of my jobs is to write for the onething website! 😀

    I’ll keep them coming, and I really have been picking away at a few entries, but so far they’re too under-developed and lamely stated to be worth publishing.

    I’m counting on the drought clearing up soon. 😀

     
  6. brianbeattie

    June 18, 2008 at 7:28 am

    You should write a book.
    I love your writing…

     
  7. Haybark

    June 18, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Brian, Why are you doing that?

     
  8. brianbeattie

    June 19, 2008 at 6:51 am

    What?

     
  9. Cara

    June 19, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Don’t know if you saw it last night but someone seemed to have misplaced their giant eagle head. Don’t worry, it was ceramic, not stuffed. I should have taken a picture. Seriously, who brings a huge eagle head to the prayer room? And for what purpose??

     
  10. Amanda Beattie

    June 20, 2008 at 2:40 am

    I saw that last night and had to give it a double-take. It made me dearly wish I had a camera phone.

     
  11. standonthewall

    June 20, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Did you see the giant eagle head that was in there last night? That thing was frightening!

     
  12. Amanda Beattie

    June 20, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Yup, that’s what Cara and I were just marveling at. 🙂

     
  13. Christine

    June 20, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I am presently sitting in a dinky little town that is filled with old and random stores that are filled with old and random junk. Some of the old and random stores are so filled with old and random junk that they leave much of the old and random junk outside all night with signs instructing people not to steal from the needy. I don’t see anyone wanting to take the old and random junk. In fact… some of the old and random junk looks like it was dropped off as a matter of convenience while carrying items to a dumpster.

    That’s what I do with old and random junk… dispose of it.

    But today… today I want to purchase old and random junk so that I can leave it in the lost and found.

    Too bad I overstuffed my suitcase in my hurried attempt to pack light. (Such attempts generally end in a SMALL suitcase that is bursting at the seams.)

     
  14. Amanda Beattie

    June 21, 2008 at 5:47 am

    If you bring home some quirky old junk, I promise to be immensely entertained.

    P.S. I miss you!

     
  15. SusanD

    June 24, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I read this blog the other day and almost fell down laughing in hysterics later that VERY same evening when I was strolling past the lost and found and I too laid eyes on the latest edition, one very ugly eagle head statue.

     
  16. Amanda Beattie

    June 25, 2008 at 2:45 am

    I saw that thing the day after I wrote this. I don’t know how long I stood there and stared at it, thinking, “You’ve got to be kidding me…” The lost and found wasted no time in one-upping my list. 😀

     
  17. Daisy Miller

    December 27, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    I am missing a small Christmas package in a box left at FCF on Sunday the sixteenth can you please notify me if you have this and where to pick it up thanks and have a blessed day This was a gift from a precious friend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
