RSS

Random Thoughts from Today

09 Apr

You asked for more random posts (or at least, one or two of you did), so here’s another one just for you! The following bullet points may or may not be related from thought to thought, so I apologize in advance for any verbal whiplash. If you wish to venture a random glance inside my brain today, feel free to proceed…

  • First off, I have to give a shout-out: It’s my dad’s birthday today!! HOORAY! Much rejoicing. He’s an excellent daddy and I’m so glad to be a part of his family.
  • Spring is officially taunting us. It will show up just long enough for everyone to bust out the short sleeves and sandals, and then it will retreat into the drizzly, frigid mist of winter. I trust that one day it will show up for real. Perhaps by June.
  • My body kept trying to wake up before the appointed time today. Fortunately it didn’t ever take too long to convince it that it really should go back to sleep.
  • On that note, it’s days like this that I really appreciate living close to a good coffee shop.
  • Even though we had (almost) everyone present and accounted for this afternoon, our onething team meeting set a record for brevity. Yay for us!
  • When I came back to the onething office an hour later for another meeting, one unexpected phone call so radically changed the course of what we were doing that the meeting was no longer necessary. Gotta love building the ship at sea.
  • I had to refill a prescription today. The health care system is broken. Let the reader understand.
  • My parents are wondeful and generous. Let the reader understand again.
  • On that note, I need to work on my support-raising.
  • I finally bit the bullet and got a credit card at my favorite jeans place today. I have to go to them once every so often to replace a pair of jeans, and after the advice of a couple of money-smart people, I decided to sign up for card. It looks like it’s going to be a really great trade-off; I delay paying for the pair of jeans for two business days, and I get all kinds of crazy discounts and coupons. Not bad, not bad at all.
  • Speaking of my favorite jeans place, I was (obviously) there today to replace a pair of jeans that officially died last night. I figure when you can see daylight coming through in inconvenient places, it’s time to throw them out and move on. I didn’t find the cut I was looking for… but I found one better. It was like some group of clothing designers got together and said, “Hey, let’s design a jean that will specifically flatter Amanda Beattie” and decided to do the rest of the world a favor by releasing them to their entire store. I did, in fact, hop up and down in excitement in the dressing room when I tried them on. Look out world; Amanda’s got new jeans. I might go back next paycheck and get some in a different wash. Hooray!
  • Speaking of jeans, I saw skinny jeans in the store today. It is beyond me why they are so widely (HA!) popular. But I guess that’s just because the word “skinny” and I have not been on particularly close terms since I was twelve. Blessings to all the ladies who look amazing in that style (I’ve seen you out there; you know who you are) — I am not one of those ladies.
  • So now that I have begun blathering about extraordinarily mundane things, I should probably wrap it up. Hopefully my next post will be a long-overdue Word of Life update (but seeing as this is not the first time I have said that, no one hold your breath yet, okay?). I’ll try to get that put out when I have the attention span/brainpower to do it. 🙂 Which will hopefully be soon. I kind of miss my attention span and brainpower. They’re due back in any day now, I promise.
 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2008 in Random

 

5 responses to “Random Thoughts from Today

  1. Dorean Beattie

    April 9, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Hey, maybe if we all hold our breath long enough we could actually wear skinny jeans. You think?

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    April 9, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Last time I checked, holding my breath wouldn’t help me out much with the part of skinny jeans that scare me.

     
  3. Mrs. I

    April 10, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Amanda, I always enjoy your random thoughts AND your un-random thoughts!!!

    Happy day after his birthday to your dad – Happy Year, Brian!

     
  4. Haybark

    April 10, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Thank God for parents willing to help with high price scripts!! Especially for thier missionary kids:)

    Looking forward to the Word of Life post.

    Lord We pray for the spirit of wisdom and revelation for Amanda….

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    April 10, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Mrs. I: Thanks… as always, your kind remakrs are much appreciated! 😀

    Haybark: Wisdom and revelation? I’ll definitely receive some of that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
