RSS

Zechariah 8:6 – A Quick Thought

01 Apr

I hope to write the overdue Word of Life update tomorrow (today?) but for now, I will leave you with my latest favorite verse out of Zechariah:

“Thus says the LORD of hosts: ‘If it is marvelous in the eyes of the remnant of this people in these days, will it also be marvelous in My eyes?’ says the LORD of hosts” (Zech 8:6).

God says this while in the middle of unpacking the glorious Millennial future of Jerusalem. In other words, “If this is mind-blowing and astonishing to you, do you really think that I am surprised by it, too?”

I love this question! So often, when we are surprised by something, we project that emotion onto God as if He were caught off guard by it, too. But He isn’t giving pause to marvel at what’s going on. He’s perfectly confident.

Remember that at this time, Jerusalem was not in good shape. It was doing better than it had been, and things were beginning to look up, but they were still a far cry from the glory of Isaiah 2, 4 and 60-66. And yet, God didn’t have to struggle to get His mind around the concept of Jerusalem being gloriously restored and functioning in the fullness of her prophetic destiny. It’s not a difficult thing to Him. We’re looking at the God of creation, the God of the resurrection. We’re looking at the One who declares the end from the beginning, who speaks things that are not as though they are — and then they come to pass. You can bank on it.

I can almost picture Him in amusement as our mental circuits blow. As we stammer, “But… how? When? No… really? I mean… I don’t get it!” His question to us might be, “Do you really think this is that big of a deal for Me to pull off? Trust Me, I am way bigger, way stronger, and way wiser than you. I who have spoken also will do it.”

I’ve been enjoying taking this verse personally lately, and I’m finding it very strengthening to my faith. When I look at the state of this earth, and even certain things in my own life, I am prone to become overwhelmed. I know where God is taking this at the end — He’s written it out in a Book, for crying out loud — but my knees still buckle at the magnitude of the task ahead and the bleakness of the immediate circumstance. Yet the Lord is not taken aback by any of it. He’s not scratching His head as He tries to plot His next move. He’s not even taking a deep sigh at how much work it’s going to be. It’s not a “marvelous” thing to Him. It’s not too difficult. It’s certainly not impossible. He can say, in complete truth and with utter confidence, that His will shall be done. His Kingdom will come. It’s only a matter of time.

In the meantime, my heart can take confidence in this. God knows what He’s doing. It’s not a toilsome burden to Him. He’s not even breaking a sweat. He absolutely, utterly has the situation under control. And that’s a beautiful, beautiful thing.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
