RSS

Reason #4,529 to Pray: The Boomerang Effect

24 Mar

Tonight I went up to pray on the microphone… not because I especially wanted to, but because there was an hour of prayer meeting left and no one in line to pray. We were focusing our prayers on Cairo, Egypt. I went up with an idea of what I wanted to pray for, but then changed it at the last second, in order to try and better fit it into the flow of the meeting.

I realized about halfway through the prayer that this was something I desperately needed. The words that were coming out of my mouth were just different language for something I’ve been praying for the last few days. As I was praying blessing for a group of believers I’ve never even seen — and I firmly believe that prayer had impact on their situation — I found myself getting blessed, and I found the Scriptures to be prophesying over me and speaking to me. I went up not entirely wanting to pray. I came back down energized, provoked, and somewhat unwilling to sit back down. I found myself pacing in the aisle and praying, engaging my heart with the Lord.

It’s basic sowing and reaping. You sow and labor in prayer, and sooner our later it’s bound to come back and hit your own heart, bringing fascination with God’s ways on top of it all. And that’s a really, really good deal.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 24, 2008 in Heart Stuff, Intercession

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Reason #4,529 to Pray: The Boomerang Effect

  1. Jerry James

    March 24, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    I’m rubber, you’re glue. What you pray for me will bounce back and stick to you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
