RSS

Remembering a Wonderful Lady

20 Mar

I hardly know how to write a worthy follow-up to my brother’s excellent post, but I’m going to share a little bit of my heart on this day. 

My Grandma Beattie was a very remarkable, dear woman. A number of things stick out to me about her. She was very sweet and gentle, yet she was incredibly determined and spunky. She was in a disastrous car accident as a young woman which broke her neck. The doctors told her she would not walk again, but she was resolved that in a few months when she married my grandpa, she would walk down the aisle. She did. She sported a big metal brace and a limp, but she stood on her own feet.

Knowing her much later, I remember being very impressed with how active she was. Grandma was a very active, athletic person before the accident, and even afterwards, although she was a lot more limited in what she could do, she happily gave herself to whatever she could put her hands to. She sewed and quilted all the time for charities, and did beautiful work. Even around the house, if there was something she could do herself, she would do it herself. One particularly fond memory I have of her was when my 6’4″ dad was getting a little “too helpful” in setting the table for dinner, and with a few words, this little, thin, partially paralyzed woman informed him in no uncertain terms that she could take care of it. And that was quite the end of the matter. 🙂

In case it isn’t obvious already, Grandma was very, very sharp mentally. Although she was quiet enough that she didn’t speak up a whole lot about things, when she did, it was always wonderful. She didn’t beat around the bush. She told it like it was.

What impresses me most about her, though, is how unwaveringly true she was to Jesus. From an outside viewpoint, it would seem that she had every opportunity in the world to lose faith and to become a bitter, jaded person with no joy or hope. But she remained a loving, kindhearted, faithful woman to the end. She loved Jesus all the way through. And that’s a beautiful (and rare) thing.

I’ll miss her a lot. I already do. But I know that I will see her again. And when I do see her, she’s going to be able to extend her hand and have full feeling in it. She won’t be struggling with a giant metal brace. She’ll be able to run and jump and be as active in her body as she was in her mind and heart.

Adam already pointed out in his blog about where our comfort lies in times like these. Our comfort is that in a moment, at the last trumpet, we will be caught up together with Christ in the air. Death is tragic — always — but praise God, for those of us who love Him, it is not forever. It is the “last enemy” which will be crushed under Jesus’ feet (1Cor 15:25-26).

I wanted to leave you with a picture, taken in the summer of 2006 at my last visit to see my grandparents. It’s not a great shot, because Grandma wasn’t especially fond of being on camera and so I had to be kind of sneaky about it. But I think it’s worth posting to honor a lovely lady who lived her life well and has now gone to be with the Lord.

grandma.jpg

We’ll miss you, Grandma. See you again someday soon…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2008 in Heart Stuff, Life Happens...

 

6 responses to “Remembering a Wonderful Lady

  1. Mrs. I.

    March 21, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Amanda, you and Adam have done a beautiful job of writing tributes to your grandmother. To think of her being in the presence of the Lord and no longer hindered by earthly physical trials must make you smile. May the Great Comforter comfort you and your family as you await that day when you will all be together again. I’ll be praying for the Beattie family. : )

     
  2. joelmw

    March 28, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Amanda, your family is in my prayers. Your grandmother sounds like a wonderful woman. Also, I came over here to say thank you for helping my ill daughter. I am so glad that she has friends like you and your extraordinary efforts on her behalf are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

     
  3. brianbeattie

    March 28, 2008 at 10:27 am

    The words of encouragement you spoke at the memorial service were such a blessing to the family and about 100 of Mom’s friends and neighbors. Would you please post them (here would be a good place)? Thanks so much for your ministry and counsel.

     
  4. Dorean Beattie

    March 28, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    I agree with your dad; you should definitely post your comments from the memorial service. You know when a woman gets a bunch of baptists and mennonites accidentally referring to what she said as a sermon (and then quickly correcting themselves, of course, she moved in power!

     
  5. Grandpa

    March 28, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Extremely well written and well said. I love the picture. Now I have to go wipe my eyes and blow my nose. I love you.

     
  6. Dianna Delgado

    March 30, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Brian, Dorean, Amanda, and Adam,

    You have touched my heart. I look forward to meeting this inspiring, brave woman one day in the near future. May we all dance together before, and with, our beautiful Lord, celebrating the greatness of who He is and what He has done.

     

Leave a Reply

 
