RSS

Welcome to my random stream of consciousness

03 Mar

It’s been a while since I’ve written one of these posts. I’m in a rambly mood. So I figured now’s as good a time as any to go for it.

– An ice cream truck drove through our neighborhood today. Maybe someone should have told him that tonight we have a chance of snow.

– We may have a chance of snow, but we have a definite present reality of rain. And I think I have come to the conclusion that rain, when it is just barely too warm to snow, is some of the least fun weather on earth.

– The distance across the parking lot of IHOP feels a lot longer when it’s pouring down 37 degree rain.

– My team no longer does the 10pm Worship with the Word on Sunday nights. I miss that session, but it’s also kind of nice to have some time to breathe between FCF and NightWatch. I still like going into the prayer room at around 10:00 or 10:30, though; it gives me some good time to chill out and study.

– As I was studying Zechariah tonight, I found out that the word perjury (Zech 5:3) is very difficult for me to spell. It looks funny when spelled correctly. So far, I’ve had to backspace and start over every time I’ve tried to type it, because I want to start out “purg…” I think I must be going for something like “purgery”, since purge is a real word, but perj is not. Jury is a real word, though. But purgejury looks silly, and probably sounds halted if you try to say it.

– I just tried to say it. It does sound halted.

– I was just now trying to figure out what “purgery” might mean if it were a real word… perhaps simply an unnecesarry synonym for the act of cleansing or expelling. Since I happen to be on the internet, I looked it up, and apparently “purgery” is already a real word. It’s the place in a sugar refinery where the molasses is drained off. Somehow I don’t think that’s what Zechariah was talking about.

– I like my new Bible a lot. I’m still getting used to the different size and layout, but fortunately I’m better at remembering scripture references than I used to be. Sometimes, though, I’ll still find myself going, “Where was that verse… It’s in Isaiah, towards the end, somewhere on the left hand side of the page about halfway up, and highlighted pink.” Except, it’s not, because this is a different Bible. All things considered, though, it’s a good problem to have.

– Speaking of highlighting things pink, I have officially made my first underlines in my new Bible. 😀 Happy day.

– Speaking of trouble finding verses, when I can’t find my way around in my new Bible, I just cheat and look the thing up in my Bible software, PowerBible. If you own a PC (sorry, Mac users) and have nineteen dollars, this is well worth your investment. It’s not the fanciest program out there, but especially considering the price, you get a lot of bang for your buck. Fully searchable, a bunch of different translations (including NKJV), Strong’s Hebrew/Greek, and a bunch of classic commentaries.

– My new Bible is made of French Moroccan leather. Every time I smell it, it reminds me of the Tandy Leather Factory, a place I remember my family going into occasionally when we were gearing up for some kind of craft project. I seem to recall making a trip there to buy a ton of leather strings to make power band bracelets for a ministry outreach.

– I remember the first time I ever heard about power band bracelets. I was probably about six or seven years old. I thought they were the most unbelievably brilliant witnessing tools ever. I made my first one at VBS.

– I’ve never been much good at gracefully ending anything I write: articles, poems, stories… or blog posts. So with that, I’ll just say that I’m done and awkwardly sign off.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2008 in My Two Cents, Random

 

6 responses to “Welcome to my random stream of consciousness

  1. Dorean Beattie

    March 3, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Fun post, girl… Although, it does make me think of a quote from your brother. You know how I have a tendency to have random conversations like this. Well, in his last couple years at home when I would start off on one of these, and I would interupt myself for the third of fourth time, he would interupt and say,”Look, Mom! Something shiny!”

    So, my words to you are “Look, Amanda! Something shiny!”

     
  2. Mark

    March 4, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Always a pleasure, Amanda. I really enjoyed this post. I miss hearing you guys at night. We used to listen to the Night Watch every night. Now there’s no internet. So sad.

    I’d enjoy more posts like this. It gives a lot of insight into your personality, thoughts, character, life, and work – all things we’re interested in or we wouldn’t be here. I’ve added you to my blog roll. Feel special!

    Keep up the good work!

     
  3. Ben Varner

    March 5, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Again you mention that you write poetry. Any of your poems in your blog? I *love* writing poetry, though I’ve only been doing it for a short while – most of them aren’t so much poetic as they are rhythm and rhyme. Here’s a link that has all my [good] poems:

    http://bibleforums.org/forum/blog.php?b=481

    I really hope that link works… Basically I’m sharing this with you because if your poetry is anything like your posts, then I’m definitely hungry to read what you’ve written! Bless you, and we *really* need to meet sometime. I see you every once in awhile, but every time you’ve been in the middle of a conversation… maybe I’ll just interrupt next time. 🙂

    Ben

     
  4. Amanda Beattie

    March 5, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Mark: Thanks for the feedback; I often wonder if these posts are interesting at all for anyone who doesn’t already know me.

    Ben: We definitely need to meet. And do feel free to interrupt me next time!

    I have a couple of poems on my other website here: http://amandabeattie.com/writingsarchive.aspx (scroll to the bottom of the page). Please pardon the whacked-out fonts… I think some of the server changes and whatnot have messed with it.

     
  5. Haybark

    March 6, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Yeah, keep the random streams coming, I like it. What kind of Bible did you get that has the specialty leather and all?

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    March 6, 2008 at 3:36 am

    It’s published by Cambridge, called the Pitt Minion Reference Bible. I have a picture up on this post: https://amandabeattie.wordpress.com/2008/02/28/my-new-favorite-thing/

     

Leave a Reply

 
