RSS

It’s worth saying again…

21 Feb

God likes you.

No, don’t just keep going. Stop, take a deep breath, and read it again. Maybe say it out loud. “God, You like me.”

This is something that we hear a lot, especially those of us who are here at IHOP, or who just hear the teachings. Because we are so familiar with the concept, it becomes too easy to breeze past it. Too often, I catch myself subconsciously slipping into a sort of jaded apathy: Yeah, I know God likes me. I’ve heard that sermon a dozen times before. It’s sweet that all the new people cry about it, but I’ve been here long enough that I have that issue settled and that box marked off.

Uh, Amanda… reality check. You don’t have it settled yet. Not even close.

I’m hazarding a guess that I’m not entirely alone in this.

It’s good to know that God likes you. But do you know that God likes you today? Have you thought lately about the fact that His eyes are on you, right now, and He is just as delighted in you as He was the first time you heard the message of intimacy? Have you remembered recently that His heart is deeply moved every time you look His way?

This really does affect everything. When we pray with a revelation of God’s emotions towards us, prayer becomes a whole lot easier. It’s no longer an exasperating task, but a labor of love, lifting up our voice to a God who is undone with just one glance. When we pursue holiness, it’s no longer a list of do’s and don’ts.  It’s a way to spend ourselves at the feet of the One who delights in us, to know Him more and to say yes to Him all over again. As we engage with the heart of God, the opinions of this fallen world matter a little bit less and the hope of our calling ignites in our hearts a little bit more.

If it’s been a while — or even if it hasn’t — take some time to talk to the Lord today. Ask Him how He feels about you. Ask Him to remind you again of His affections for you. You don’t have to live on yesterday’s encounter. His delight is still in you. His desire is still for you. His banner over you is still love.

It’s worth saying yet again. God likes you.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2008 in Heart Stuff, Intimacy with God

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “It’s worth saying again…

  1. Lauren

    February 21, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Oh Amanda you’re wonderful. Thanks for the reminder.

     
  2. emilymea

    February 21, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Amanda, I needed to read this this morning as I got up and ready to go to work. Thanks.

     
  3. Jeff

    February 21, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Thanks Amanda. We really do need to hear this over and over again.

    On Saturday, we had a 24 hour prayer event at my church. I listened to “Experiencing Easy Prayer, Part 1” and turned it into a set of summary notes for the prayer meeting at the end.

    I preached it (in about 10 minutes) at the meeting, emphasizing the difference between rebellion and immaturity, and stressing that God enjoys us even in our weakness.

    My pastor was touched and ended up changing his sermon the next day to include that point. It was wonderful.

    … And yet this morning, fallen back into the same old besetting sin, I found myself struggling to really believe He likes me.

    And yet He does. His delight is in me the moment I repent – even if it’s seven times in one day.

     
  4. Haybark

    February 22, 2008 at 2:38 am

    I didn’t even know how much I needed to hear this until I did. mmmm feels good, Thanks!

     
  5. Dorean Beattie

    February 22, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    God’s so cool…

     

Leave a Reply

 
