RSS

More to Life

25 Jan

Every now and again, I get slapped in the face with the reality in which most of planet earth lives. I got good and stirred up over this subject a month or so ago, listening to a radio show that had various self-help improve-your-life topics inserted between the music. Topics of great importance, like losing weight, maintaining your lawn, losing weight, improving your credit score, losing weight, saving money, and getting in shape… Oh yeah, did I mention losing weight? After not very long of enduring that mess, I got so fed up I shut off the radio.

I see these little helpful articles everywhere. I get them in emails. Internet popups. Posters. Billboards. Thousands upon thousands of sound-bytes, snippets of sage advice to make your life happier and more fulfilled.

They usually make me want to throw something. Or maybe preach. That’s a better option, come to think of it.

The more I see of the wisdom of this world, the more I’m convinced that the fasted lifestyle is worth it. I begin to feel like Solomon might have when he penned Ecclesiastes. “Everything is vanity!” All that we work for, stress out over, and lust after, is so fleeting and meaningless. If what the world offers me is all there is to life, count me out.

I am so glad that there is a bigger picture. God is coming to the planet. He wants friendship and partnership with us now. All things will be made new and will be restored to glorify His name. There is a Way offered to us that allows us to lay up treasures in heaven that cannot be destroyed — treasures that actually carry value in eternity. I don’t want to waste my life on things that will fade away in but a moment. I’d rather sow myself into a real and living God and know true happiness, in this age and in the next.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 25, 2008 in Eternity, Heart Stuff, My Two Cents

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “More to Life

  1. Dorean Beattie

    January 25, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Preach it, Girl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
