RSS

Sick as a Dog

17 Jan

…or in other words, “How Amanda feels right now”.

Okay, that’s a pretty dramatic way to put it. But the phrase crossed my mind tonight as I was crashed in my room and drinking chicken broth, and it seemed blogworthy. Now, I’ve never owned a dog, but I’ve known several people that do. I’ve had a fair bit of experience with dogs. And they actually spend a good part of their lives happy and healthy, from what I’ve observed. Unless they’re just really good at covering up. I wonder who first arrived at the conclusion that “dog” served as a good simile for “sick”?

And while I was musing on this subject, another colloquialism crossed my mind: “healthy as a horse.” Are horses inherently healthy, compared to, say, dogs? I thought Elmer’s Glue was our indication that sometimes horses aren’t exactly a picture of health.

Anyway. All I know is that I felt fine when I woke up. My throat felt a bit odd at 5 or 6pm. At 9pm, I was starting to get concerned that I was coming down with something, and by 10 or 11 I had a fever. Which I still have. After having to take a personal day off from the prayer room tonight (much sadness).

But really, on a scale of 1-10, with 1 being “healthy as a horse” and 10 being, “they shoot horses when they achieve this state of unhealthiness,” I’m probably only at about a 5 or 6. Which is enough to put me out of commission for the night, but not enough to send me to the ER, nor fleeing repeatedly to the restroom (praise the Lord).

Anyway, if you think of us, the NightWatch has had a nasty flu bug something or other running around, and prayers would be appreciated. 🙂 I’m definitely not the only one who’s been taken out by this thing, and I totally believe God is able to heal even seasonal bugs.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2008 in Life Happens..., Random

 

5 responses to “Sick as a Dog

  1. brianbeattie

    January 17, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Horses have a vested interest in being very healthy; as you mentioned, the treatment for serious horse ailments is immediately effective and permanent.

    I heard “Larry the Cable Guy” on one of his TV appearances mention his ailing horse, and the vet recommended he shoot it. So he did, and now he has a horse with a broke leg and a gunshot wound. He’ll probably give it a week, and if it’s not better by then, he’ll go out and shoot it again…

    I’m going to guess that “Sick as a Dog” has something to do with how some dogs look. Imagine a bloodhound resting on the porch, paws supporting a saggy, drooly, floppy-jowled, sad-sack face. If that dog ain’t sick, it’s lying.

     
  2. Christine

    January 17, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Feel better! I”m praying for you! Let me know if I can do anything for you. Let me know if you want me to cook or go pick something up for tomorrow night. Or… if you want to cancel.

     
  3. Mrs. I

    January 17, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Hi, Amanda! My daughter has been sick and unable to go to the Prayer Room since Monday. That nasty bug is definitely making the rounds. Will be praying health and healing over NightWatch and DayWatch, both – take care of yourself!

    Be healed in Jesus’ Mighty, Precious and Holy Name!!!!

     
  4. xristosdomini

    January 18, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Yeah… it’s going around. Somehow I think running back and forth to the bathroom when you are sick is worse then being made into glue. At least during the glue making process you are expired at some point so you don’t care… Running back and forth means you get tortured “roughly” every 9 minutes (anyone catch the pun?). I remember during my period of being majorly ill referring to myself as being “sick as a schnauser” simply because it rhymed and sounded cute (in a disturbing kind of way), and I definitely remembing during one of my episodes thinking it would be much easier being a bottle of rubber cement… Okay, you get spread kind of thin, but your entire job is to be really sticky… I could do that job. Give me a box of popsicles, and I’m set.

    Adam

     
  5. Dorean Beattie

    January 22, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Adam: Um… Sick and schnauser don’t even begin to rhyme… You sill man…

     

Leave a Reply

 
