RSS

Reality Check

14 Jan

So, I was working on my newsletter recently (which, by the way, if you would like to receive one of these from me every month or two, fill out the contact form here). I’m preparing my annual onething recap newsletter. Due to the sheer size and busyness of the conference, this always ends up being a four-pager, as opposed to my normal two-page update. This means it requires a little different layout, and my standard features all move around a bit.

So instead of just being able to plug in my normal “About Amanda” section, I had to rewrite it. I figured it was about time. My secondary job titles have morphed a lot since last time I updated that section.

I began writing basics about who I am and what I do. I found myself writing about how I help lead prayer… in the prayer room… and that means all over the internet… and all over global TV…

Yipes. When did that happen?

Okay, so it’s been happening for months now. But still. Sometimes it is so easy to forget what’s really going on. I’m just me. My friends are still just my friends. We still show up to the prayer room from midnight to six a.m. and we pray. Sometimes it feels glorious, sometimes it feels dry. Sometimes we don’t want to leave the prayer room, and sometimes we don’t particularly feel like showing up. But we keep showing up — it’s been more than four years for me and more than eight years for IHOP-KC in general.

At one level, things are very different. There are a ton more people in the NightWatch than there were when I first got here. My Fire in the Night track was the biggest one IHOP-KC had hosted to date… and now it looks laughably small next to the number of folks we’ve got coming now. Oh yeah, and the cameras sprouting out of the walls and ceiling, broadcasting 24/7 prayer across the earth. That’s pretty different too.

Yet really, at the same time, nothing fundamental has changed. We still show up, night and day, rain or shine, and we lift up worship and prayer to the Lord from a little remodeled shopping center in Kansas City. No matter how global we get, the most important audience we have is still the “audience of One”. The Lord’s heart is no more with us than it was when we were a handful of people gathered in a trailer with bubbly green carpet and a rough sound system. Every prayer, every song — eight years worth of it — has carried real weight and import before His throne. He doesn’t take us more seriously now that we have a nice stage and cameras. His affections are no greater towards us now that we have visible momentum. Prayer is still really simple, and God is still really responsive to the cries of those who love Him.

I don’t want to take for granted the ways God has been growing us. What is happening around here is significant, and leading the nations in prayer is an awesome responsibility that I don’t want to approach lightly. But it so encourages my heart to know that, no matter what happens, my mission and my audience never changes. There is only One whose approval I need to seek, and His heart is for me in a massive way from the very beginning.

I love what I do.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Reality Check

  1. brianbeattie

    January 15, 2008 at 8:36 am

    I’m more convinced than ever that the most dangerous, world-shaking thing we can pray is “Your kingdom come, Your will be done…” To see what God does with a small group of praying people is just stunning.

    Do you remember a small home fellowship in Dallas, and a day some ten years ago when someone declared over me that they saw footprints on a globe? I wonder if this is what they saw…

     

Leave a Reply

 
