RSS

Voting for Righteousness

16 Dec

So Mike Huckabee has been taking off in the polls lately, seemingly out of nowhere. I still don’t know a tremendous amount about this candidate, but so far, I like what I hear. I am much less scared of him than I am some of the other front-runners, let’s just say that much. Let me also qualify that it is not my intention to endorse him here. You know, ‘cuz… with my huge reader base and all, I’d better be pretty impartial. Okay. So it probably doesn’t matter. But I want to state right off the bat that my intention is not to say who to vote for. I just want to say that I think this post will be relevant to you no matter who you like the looks of at the moment. I think it’s terribly relevant to this election.

The reason I am inspired to write yet another political post (gasp… I know), is because of some headlines I’ve been seeing lately. Windows Vista comes with a sidebar that runs different news headlines, which is actually pretty helpful for me. (By the way, yes, I did just say “Vista”… all you Mac or XP fans can keep your comments to yourself. ;)) I’m generally really bad at keeping up with the news, and this way I at least can see if something important is going on.

ANYWAY, I’ve been seeing articles lately of influential Republicans commenting on Mike Huckabee. He’s starting to actually dominate in some states. The word from these folks? “Whatever you do, don’t nominate him!” One person predicted that he would “implode”. The other one insisted that the Democratic party would pretty much eat him for lunch. So the basic gist of the situation is this: A lot of Republican voters are loving what Huckabee stands for. Bigwigs in the Republican party are saying that that doesn’t matter, because he might lose the election to a Democrat.

I can understand how this would be a bit of a professional conundrum. After all, you want to nominate someone who will actually win. But if the person you nominate is so far from his party’s value system that a large percentage of the people don’t want to vote for him, that’s a problem. And from a Christian perspective, if the candidate compromises on key moral issues, then that’s a big problem.

I want to share a dream I had a little over two years ago. It seemed really random at the time, but it’s feeling more and more relevant to me now than ever. I feel like I want to share it with you all for what it may be worth to you.

Note: There are a couple “mini-dreams” on either side of this that I don’t think you guys need to read… if they lend context to the main dream, I’m not seeing how. So for the sake of space and clarity, I’m only posting the main part — what you’re about to read is an edited version of my dream journal.

This dream was pretty short and began abruptly, but I knew a lot of context going into it.  I found myself in a small town that looked to be in the frontier/Old West kind of era.  I knew that there had been some political unrest in the town.  There was a city council of some sort, and one of the men on it was a pastor.  He had been fighting to keep godly laws in place and to keep the town walking in righteousness.

There was another man on the council who was—uh—not a pastor.  I never saw him (or the pastor for that matter), but I knew that this guy was very powerful in the town, someone who had little to no official authority, but was the city founder’s great-great-grandson or something like that. I knew he had a crooked agenda, a rotten attitude, and enough gumption to be throwing his weight around and taking things over.  He was the kind of man that few people liked but nobody could stop.

I also knew that the council—these two men, in particular—had been battling over a number of issues lately.  I know that the pastor had won on some issues and that the bad guy had won on some.  I saw that, in the town, there was some sort of money-handling establishment (I briefly saw inside of it), and that it was very, very shady.  I’m not sure if it was a gambling hall or a lending company or what; all I knew is that a lot of cash went through there, and it was corrupt. I knew that this establishment was one of the issues the council had debated over.  All of the political battles had been revolving around that sort of thing—gambling halls and the like.

This is where I actually entered the dream.  I was walking towards the general store, which was also the meeting place for the town.  I was in a group of people (probably about a dozen or so), and I knew that among them was “the bad guy”.  He was pushing for the council to pass a measure that would allow a saloon to be built in the city.  Of course, the pastor was dead set against that, and had been very vocal about it.  In this group of people were also a number of women who were very loose—I didn’t get the feeling that they were prostitutes, per se, but they were the kind of women who would really like the idea of a saloon in town (remembering that this is an Old West setting and that proper women just didn’t do such things back then).

The reason this meeting had been called was to discuss what to do with the pastor.  The bad man had had quite enough of this pastor’s “interference” with his agenda, and was motioning to kick him out of office. I knew that, in the course of the meeting, the decision would be voted upon like this: whoever wanted the pastor to stay on the council would stand up, and whoever wanted him to be kicked off would sit down. 

I was feeling pretty upset, knowing that the pastor was going to lose his position, and there was nothing I could do about it. I was planning on sitting down during the vote, doing nothing, because it was really a hopeless situation.  But then it struck me what I was about to do, and I was immediately and thoroughly convicted.  This pastor was the only man on the council who was fighting for righteousness in the city.  He was consistently taking a biblical stand on the issues of the day.  He was the only godly influence in that political body—and I knew that I could not have his downfall on my head.  I did not dare to have any part in lending my assent to his removal from office. 

I knew then that I had to stand during the vote.  I also knew that I would be the only one—literally, the only person—in the whole town who would stand for him.  I knew that it would be a huge scandal; I would lose any sort of reputation I had as a nice, good citizen; I would be on the black list of whoever was behind this attack on the pastor.  But I had to do it.  I was going to stand for righteousness.

That’s where the dream ended for me. I hope it’s edifying/encouraging to some of you out there. Stand for righteousness. Pray for righteousness. We need a serious breakthrough in these elections.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2007 in Intercession

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Voting for Righteousness

  1. Steve Bunkoff

    December 17, 2007 at 8:25 am

    I’m with you, even if it does sound funny to say President Huckabee.

     
  2. haybark

    December 17, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    Amanda, wow, I think that dream is important. I picked up something from it that speaks about the prevailing “wind” of the hour that has been breeding a sense of hopelessness in the church concerning this coming election. I’m not up on Huckabee yet either, need to do my homework pretty quickly, but your dream has me thinking, I really believe it is significant.

    The thing that keeps ministering to me from it is the sense of despair that the enemy has been sowing into the minds of the church over this election. he doesn’t want to face what he did in the last with the backlash of the conservitive vote…. I think you (your dream, I mean)hit a key intercession focus concerning the elections, you might want to mention this when you guys pray for the elections. I will take to mine.

    BTW have you seen this clip of Huckabee on youtube? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-BFEhkIujA> It is really quite good.. He handled this well, I was impressed.

     
  3. haybark

    December 17, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Try this link instead, the other didn’t work: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-BFEhkIujA

     
  4. toknowasiamknown

    December 18, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    Amanda, I totally agree. Awesome post. And that video of Huckabee… wow that is a great answer.

     
  5. standonthewall

    December 18, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Did you know that Mike Huckabee was a pastor? He was actually my governor for awhile and I think he’s swell. He did a lot of great things for the state of Arkansas.

     
  6. haybark

    December 19, 2007 at 3:01 am

    Interesting how things come at times. I just got an e mail earlier today before I went to work from Matt Lockett (B4L) asking our team to pray for the Michigan Primary. I want to paste a portion of the letter here, I’m about to write a long post, sorry… I get on a roll. then follow it up with a vision one of our intercessors recently had that she felt, (and wrote me after I had forwarded Matt’s letter and said it confirmed without any mention from me)it was linked to the elections. Bear with me, I think this is significant,I was pondering at work tonight and i feel it is all connected.

    This is what Matt wrote:
    “The Polls shows Michigan in a dead heat up for grabs between Giuliani, Romney and Huckabee. I’m asking for you to mobilize prayer in your circles of influence regarding these coming elections. One of the great hurdles in Iowa concerns the churches. I spoke this weekend with organizers from Iowa Christian Alliance that have been trying to distribute bi-partisan voter guides to churches. Overwhelmingly, pastors are refusing to take them this time around declaring that they “don’t want to get involved.” Naturally, voter turnout for Primaries is significantly less than general elections. We crunched the numbers for Iowa and found that every person that votes on January 3rd will count for themselves plus 16 other voters. The Church cannot miss her opportunity to mobilize now.

    I would like to share a dream with you from one of our prophetic intercessors concerning the 2003 Primaries:
    In the dream they saw the two primary candidates McCain and Bush, and there were angels and demons battling in the heavens for influence over the outcome of the political contest. They then heard a voice that said, ” Render to Caesar the things that are Caesar ‘s, and to God the things that are God’s.”

    At first read you might think that the interpretation is for the Church to not get involved in politics–government is one thing, but religion is another. But that is not the point. The dream revealed a spiritual battle over the natural outcome of a political battle . And the only thing that can effect that spiritual realm is the praying Church. Clearly, government too belongs to God. You could safely deduce then that the outcome of the 2004 elections was not determined in November 2004, but rather it was initiated at the beginning of 2003. The Church needs eyes and ears to see this and engage.”

    What interested me most was that the pastor’s of Iowa rejecting wanting anything to do with the vote. this tells me there already has been significant work done to hedge up this vote from having the churches influence. “back to your hole’s where you belong,” type of thing. “Stay comfortable, stay content, and for Goodness sakes, STAY OUT OF THE ELECTIONS. Nothing you can do about it, things are too far gone, you have enough things to worry about, etc….” I can almost hear him ranting in ears everywhere.

    Last, I submit this to everyones consideration before the Lord from one of our intercessors.
    10/2/07 Good Morning,
    I was awakened this morning around 3:40 – and I felt the Lord’s presence. I began to praise His name and pray in the spirit.
    I was then taken into a place where I could see the entire outline of the US. Although I could see all the US I could still see that people were moving about and doing normal things. I saw that there was a mist on the East coast and the Atlantic Ocean. I then saw–though the mist–a misty ship pull into a space approximately where Maryland is located–or thereabout. It “locked” onto something because I could hear the sound and see the action. Something visible to me went out from either side of the ship until it covered the entire edge of the East Coast. The mist seemed to clear somewhat on the ocean and I could see that there were many ships waiting to dock. I could see that these ships were misty and lacked a real form. Each in turn–according to size–they approached the ship that had already docked and “swallowed” it up–i.e., the ship would keep going until it had covered the previous ship and it became absorbed by the bigger ship. As each ship docked–the substance that had gone out from the first ship and covered the edge of the East Coast began to slowly “creep and crawl” across the US Westward. As the substance spread–it seemed to take the color and action out of the land and the people. The colors became dull and everything seemed to slow down to a “drag”. By the time the last ship had docked the entire US had been covered. I then could see a very definite outline around the US and it was like a steel frame. I again heard the “locking” noise and the final ship that was in the harbor took shape and looked like a huge dark gray submarine and sat up out of the water and the steel frame around the US was attached to the ship. I could see that the ship was sending some kind of “force” or “power” through the frame and it was causing the US to “shake” and it began to crack and break up into smaller pieces but still locked inside the frame.
    I then could see our prayer table at church with all the prayer requests and pictures on it. Included in the group was a map of the US that looked like a page that had been torn from a book, a small flag and another page with an outline of the US and the words, “2008 Elections” written across it.

     
  7. haybark

    December 19, 2007 at 3:24 am

    As i considered her vision in light of things that the Lord has been speaking to me, and what others are saying in the prophetic community (intrestingly Rick Joyner’s prophetic bulliten yesterday http://www.morningstarministries.org/Group/Group.aspx?id=1000013392 ) I don’t know that the effects of the misty ships will be avoided, it’s a question of who will be at the healm during the sahking that will be important.

    I’ll shut up now.

     
  8. keyofdavid

    December 19, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    that dream is so cool, i love that the Lord speaks like this, ‘old west setting’ haha

     

Leave a Reply

 
