RSS

It’s a Snowy, Randomly Thoughtful-Like Day

15 Dec

So here’s the random follow-up to this post… Read over there if you want an intro, because I’m just going to jump in on this one. I offer no apology for my lack of transition. And if you want to read something a bit more edifying/inspiring and less weird, please do go read the original post first (it has become one of my favorites on this blog). Anyway, here goes:

Random thought 1: I really appreciate Mike Bickle. The EGS just finished playing over the TV screens in the coffee shop, and he was preaching on what life will be like in the resurrection. I love how he bibically, straightforwardly and down-to-earthedly rattles everyone’s ideas of heaven, yet does so in kindness and humility. (Side note: yes, I just invented the term “down-to-earthedly”, and I think it’s a keeper.) One of the things I really like about Mike’s teaching style is how he gladly invites his listeners to challenge anything he says against Scripture. Partly this is an indicator of how biblically grounded his stuff is, and partly this shows how he is still genuinely eager to learn and grow in understanding, even as he’s been studying the Bible for longer than I’ve been alive. I want to be like that when I grow up. 🙂 I want to be bold, and I want to go deep in the Word, but I never want to be so learned in my own eyes that I cease to be teachable.

And speaking of appreciating people: I really admire the IHOP staff in general. The weather may be unfriendly today, but folks are still showing up and doing their sets and admin jobs, for which they do not even get paid an hourly wage. The “fire on the altar” has been burning strong for more than eight years now, through all kinds of adverse weather. I’ve heard stories of a winter in the old trailer where the power went out for a number of days, and people still showed up to pray in the freezing cold anyway. I remember a summer several years ago when the tornado sirens went off, and we were all ushered into the hallway for safety — and sure enough, we had someone out there with an accoustic guitar. We sang and prayed, in the IHOP hallway, with as many people as could safely fit crammed in the bathrooms and spilling out into the hall. Once it was all clear, everyone went back into the main prayer room and kept going for the rest of the night. The dedication, faithfulness, and servanthood of the people around here continually blows me away.

Another random thought: Eggnog spiced chai is of the Lord. I’m convinced of it. I wish I didn’t run out of it just now. But I think I’m also glad I didn’t go for the venti.

And speaking of Higher Grounds coffee shop: All the artwork has been taken down from the walls. I assume it’s in preparation to ship it all down to the onething conference. But it does feel a bit odd to be looking at the walls… and see nothing but walls.

Random new word I learned recently:Defenestrate.” It means to throw somebody or something out the window. No, I’m not kidding. Look it up. I’m probably not going to be using it much in conversation, because I anticipate people assuming that it means something other than what it actually does. But I think this is up near the top of my favorite words at the moment, because I find it terrifically amusing that someone was driven to come up with a word that means, “to throw ___ out a window”.

Random sleep patterns: I’ve been having difficulty winding down to get to sleep lately. If you feel like praying for me, I could use it. My goal is to be asleep (meaning literally unconscious) by 7:00am so I can start getting up at 2:00pm or so. Let’s just say that hasn’t been working well the past couple of days.

Random odd feeling: I’m still not used to the fact that, beginning at midnight tonight, I’m going to be able to say, “My little(??) brother is twenty years old.” Yoikes. And yay!

And speaking of birthdays: I am taking great satisfaction in the fact that his present arrived in the mail yesterday, I know he will love it, and I know what it is and he doesn’t. And I know that bugs him just a little bit. 😀 Love ya, man.

Random numbering: Did you notice how I started this with “Random thought 1”, and never posted a “Random thought 2”? Yet if I posted a “Random thought 2” now, it wouldn’t actually be accurate, because it’s not even close to my second random thought. Although, I guess if you think about it, that would sure be pretty random… to have a 2 when it isn’t actually second… um…. moving on.

Random gifts: I received my Christmas package in the mail from my mom and dad today. In it were a few items that weren’t technically Christmas presents, but were just in there for fun. One is a pennywhistle. I’ve wanted one for a while, and it’s taken us a couple of tries to find a good one, but this one sounds pretty nice. I’m excited about getting better at it. Also in the package was a slide whistle and a kazoo. Somehow I get the feeling Clay will be a bit less enthusiastic about me attempting to bring those on stage to play. Also in this box was a set of four rubber ducks. They light up.
I love my parents.

Random sketchings: Don’t ask me why I made these. I’m not entirely sure. But I submit them for your enjoyment. I was noticing that I sometimes say “holey moley”, but I don’t like spelling it “holy moly,” because I hate to use the term “holy” as an exclamation. I want to mean it when I say it. So I was thinking about what “holey” means, and out came these sketches… I made them just now, which is why they’re grainy — I’m not at home, so instead of scanning, I just used my webcam. It’s crude but it worked.

holey-cow.jpg  
(holey cow – note steak and crossbones tattoo)                     
holey-moley.jpg
(holey moley)
 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2007 in Random

 

11 responses to “It’s a Snowy, Randomly Thoughtful-Like Day

  1. xristosdomini

    December 15, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    Wow… you are so much “deeper” with weather than myself…… all I could think about was my apparent “bad driving”.

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    December 16, 2007 at 12:19 am

    Wait. You wrote “deeper” on this post?

    I mean, thanks…

    P.S. 40 minutes until your birfday. 😀

     
  3. Haybark

    December 16, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    Sorry, I’m lke this guy just breaking into your community but I love what’s happening there, i like to talk about the things you guys are immersed in daily. I caught Mike’s EGS last night and it really rocked me. I have been doing some writing adn working through some edits on a book and the Lord has been downloading this stuff about tribulation and the day of the Lord, ect.. without hitting a lot of detail, the thing that Isaiah talks about that Jesus came to do to restore the desolate heritages is what the Lord has been opening to me. the whole take that I was lead to write about was the restoration of the spiritual aspect of what Adam had lost, and Christ is restoring with substatial intrest in the tribulation. And what that will mean for our gathering the harvest and the battle at the end of the age.

    I don’e hear alot of this kind of teaching ANYWHERE but my prayer closet, and, of course, IHOP and a few other ministries. But what Mike was saying last night nearly took my head off as it filled in so many of the blank areas, and gave me amazing confirmation. I noticed this morning that something profound had shifted in me from watching that. there is such a confidence of my destiny and my belonging to something far greater and eternal. What must I be to God if He has invested His Son for me to be a son? Wow, I love Jesus more!!

     
  4. Haybark

    December 16, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    By the way, We are getting your snow today in Michigan that you just had…

     
  5. Christine

    December 16, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    Appreciating people: I think we actually had MORE people than you could safely cram into the bathrooms and overflowing out in the hall. It was packed in those tiny spaces… and those glass doors at the far end of the hall… oy.

    Higher Grounds: The art was taken down for remodeling. And… other changes are coming. Most of the art will not be returning. It is all just sitting in our back office… waiting for David and I to have time to communicate with the artists to come pick it back up. It’s a little sad. We won’t have the time until January to meet with Higher Grounds to work out the details on the art stuff.

    New word: I love it. That’s an incredible word.

    Gifts: Your parents are great. 🙂

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    December 16, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Haybark: I love hearing how God stirs different people’s hearts to this kind of message. It always encourages my heart to be reminded again that He really is sovereignly doing something across the earth. He really is raising up those who will be prepared for His return, ushering it in wtih prayer. (And by the way, no need to apologize for “breaking into the community”… I’m writing on the internet for a reason, so that anyone can read and comment. Glad you stopped in and said something!)

    Christine: Ah, so more changes are a-comin’ at HGC… wow. And you and I will have to start finding excuses to use the word “defenestrate” in conversation. 😀 And I agree, I think my parents are great, too.

     
  7. haybark

    December 17, 2007 at 2:25 am

    Amanda, thanks for making me feel welcomed!

    Blessings!!

     
  8. Christine

    December 17, 2007 at 2:43 am

    So… that wonderful new word may not be that wonderful, after all. It has become rather gross to me.

     
  9. Amanda Beattie

    December 17, 2007 at 5:03 am

    Um… maybe I don’t want to know.

     
  10. Dorean Beattie

    December 19, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    I like the new word… Although, it does mess up that old-timey camp song, “The Second Story Window”. Remember that one? You sing a nursery rhyme (all to the tune of this one song) and each one ends with the same line: “And through it out the window, the window, the second story window”…

    “Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall,
    Humpty Dumpty had a great fall,
    All the king’s horses and all the king’s men
    Defenstrated him, denfenstrated him…”

    I don’t think it works…

     
  11. xristosdomini

    December 20, 2007 at 4:56 am

    I remember many a car ride where we would sing about taking something and pitching it out yonder pane on the second floor of a building… Somehow it always broke down when I tried to sing a chorus… Oh well, it was fun…

     

Leave a Reply

 
