RSS

I survived.

22 Nov

Trying to buy cranberry sauce at Wal-Mart on the day before Thanksgiving is… uh… exciting.

The people who are hosting Thanksgiving dinner emailed today, asking if anyone could bring the cranberry sauce to dinner. I happen to really enjoy that stuff, and can’t imagine Thanksgiving without it, so I happily volunteered… not thinking about the fact that it was the day before Thanksgiving.

Wal-Mart was down to the last dozen or so cans by the time I got to them. In fact, I was standing there in the canned fruit aisle, wondering why the cranberry sauce wasn’t there. I tried to think of where else it could be kept in the store, if not here. I was just about to try looking in another section when… I saw it. A sad, badly dented can that had rolled near the edge of the (mostly empty) bottom shelf. A lonely can of cranberry sauce. I hoped against hope that it wasn’t the only one left.

Do you suppose its a sign of cranberry dependency that I actually got down on my knees to retrieve it?

And I tell you what, there’s nothing quite as nerve-wracking as being up to your shoulder in shelf when you hear two ladies yell behind you, “There it is!!”

Thankfully (Thank-fully…. HA), I made it out in one piece and with four cans of sugary cranberry-y delightfulness.

I hope to post a more thoughtful post tomorrow, but hey, this is what you get with me and my little addled brain today. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2007 in Life Happens...

 

2 responses to “I survived.

  1. Lauren

    November 22, 2007 at 4:15 am

    I imagine it’s almost as bad as being at Wal-mart on the same night as the newest Harry Potter release. Granted, you’re fighting middle aged women and I was hiding from children…still though, those kids are tough.

    See you tomorrow.

     
  2. Christine

    November 22, 2007 at 5:36 am

    As Matthias recently said, a Thanksgiving without cranberry sauce would be “a tragedy akin to many puppies suffocating on the down harvested from ducklings that were recently fed to baby seals who were shortly thereafter clubbed.” I, for one, am thankful that you braved it and secured our cranberry sauce for us. It was a very noble thing you did. Very noble, indeed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
