RSS

Word of Life Meeting 7 (Late post, sorry)

14 Nov

So I am just realizing that I neglected to post the Word of Life Bible Study update! For shame and for horror!

Actually, I just got busy and forgot. I’ll post the abbreviated version:

We talked about the Incarnation again last Saturday. We’re not out of chapter 4 yet. 😀 I tell you what, it will fascinate your heart no end to really get ahold of this reality, that eternal God took on flesh (which He still has, by the way) and stepped into our world. We talked a lot about how Jesus had to learn and grow… including the question, “Did Jesus always know He was God, even from the manger?”

Hee. I’m not going to try and answer that one here, because I would like to see other people’s thoughts in the comments first, if you feel so motivated. 🙂

Still on chapter 4 for next week… at which time I will try to post in a much more punctual fashion.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2007 in Word of Life Bible Study

 

5 responses to “Word of Life Meeting 7 (Late post, sorry)

  1. brianbeattie

    November 14, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    I’ve always assumed Phil 2:7 means that Jesus put aside all of His “God-ability” so that He could have the nature of a man and walk by faith.

    Satan clearly believed that Jesus’ access to His superhuman authority and ability was as close as a decision to use it – The temptations in the wilderness must have been excruciating but would it be worse to have a profound faith and not ask God for a trick, or worse to be aware that you are God and be reminded that you’re just a thought, a mere desire away from earth-shattering glory? I think the latter, and that Jesus’ rejection of the temptation to demonstrate wonders was much more profound because He was fully aware he was choosing the cross and all that it means, in that moment. His entire life Jesus “fasted” [resisted] using His power as God, choosing instead to walk out a life of faith and prayer.

    I don’t think this works and means the same thing if Jesus doesn’t know He’s God all along.
    I think Jesus had to know (to the extent a person of any age can be self-aware) from birth.

    Besides, what real human three-year-old little boy doesn’t somehow seem to think they are god of some sort?

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    November 14, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    I agree that Jesus knew pretty early on who He was. We know for sure by the time He was 12, He had a good grasp on it.

    However, what two-week old thinks much further beyond, “I’m hungry. I’m sleepy. I need my mommy. I need a diaper change. I wish I could focus my eyes.”

    Although Jesus was always fully God, He had to grow in wisdom (Luke 2:52). I don’t think He lived under the delusion that He was just a normal kid until God suddenly appeared to Him one day at age 10 and said, “I have a surprise for You”, or anything like that, but I think He had to learn who He was like any child does. As His little brain developed, I have to imagine the Father taught Him (or maybe more accurately, “reminded Him”?).

     
  3. brian

    November 15, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Exactly.

    That’s what I meant by that “as can be self-aware” comment.

    We don’t really know what a baby thinks about, but what momma doesn’t gush over the infant epiphany of “hey, is this hand thingy mine?”. I am tickled and awestruck to think of Jesus having a moment like that.

     
  4. Amanda Beattie

    November 15, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    I was pretty sure that’s what you meant, but wanted to clarify that point with you. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
