RSS

Word Nerdery

19 Sep

So, not too long ago I subscribed to “Word of the Day” from Merriam-Webster.com. If that wasn’t enough to establish my status as a word nerd, I figure I qualify by the fact that I’m about to write a post about it. Anyway, I thought I’d take a minute and share some of my favorite words of the day so far…

* Grandiloquence = use of overly grandiose, flowery langauge. I think it’s awesome that the word to describe it is itself very cumbersome and flowery.

* Ruly = You’ve heard of unruly, but apparently it’s possible to be ruly. It means what it sounds like it means… ruly people follow the rules.

*objet trouve = Something that is found and kept for asthetic value. Mostly I like this one because it’s pronounced OB-jay  true-VAY. Try saying it. It’s fun.

* salubrious = something that promotes health or well-being, especially as it relates to climate or air.

I do have to admit I was sadly disappointed in today’s word. “Thesaurus.” Yup. You read that right. If you don’t know what “thesaurus” means, then I think it’s quite obvious that you are not the type of person who subscribes to Word of the Day.

Which is not to say that I didn’t open the email and read it anyway…

Such is life as me. 🙂

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2007 in Random

 

9 responses to “Word Nerdery

  1. Dorean Beattie

    September 19, 2007 at 8:37 am

    I find it interesting that to call someone unruly is in most circumstances an insult, but to be called the opposite also sounds like an insult, too. I mean, if I walked up to you and said you were ruly, doesn’t that sound like another way to say “stuffy stick-in-the-mud”?

    As for objet trouvet, I love it! I think I’ll apply it to my Barney sofa. ( http://dorean.wordpress.com/2007/09/18/barney-comes-to-stay/ ) My Barney sofa is an objet trouvet… I like it. It’s cool, and just a little grandiloquent… I think I’ll use it often. Thanks for the tip!

     
  2. Christine

    September 19, 2007 at 10:27 am

    I just realized that we subscribe to different “Word of the Day” lists. Mine is called “A Word A Day.” They have weekly themes and often present interesting words. If you haven’t checked it out, I think you would like it.

    They sometimes do give fairly common, well-known words. When that is the case, there is frequently some interesting etymology. But… sometimes the words are just disappointing.

    (In all of my word nerdiness, though, I have to admit that I haven’t been checking the email address that gets that subscription for a very long time. I just looked and I have over 1000 unread messages. Oops.)

    In any case… we love you in all of your word-nerd beauty.

     
  3. Mrs. I.

    September 19, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    Amanda, I have 2 words for today: “Happy Birthday!”

    Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Birthday, Amanda,
    May the Dear Lord Bless You!!!

    Happy Day! Happy Year! Happy Life!
    Wishing you God’s richest blessings today and every day!

     
  4. Amanda Beattie

    September 19, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Aww, thanks!

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    September 20, 2007 at 3:10 am

    And in case anyone wondered, I got a good Word of the Day on my birthday:

    fissiparous = tending to break up into parts, divisive

    Made me happy. 🙂

     
  6. Dorean Beattie

    September 20, 2007 at 9:10 am

    Wow… Fissiparous isn’t much of a birthday word! Unless you were a twin, maybe…

    For your birthday, I think I would choose “panegyrize”. On your birthday you deserve to have people panegyrize about you! Yea, Amanda!

    panegyrize=To compose, deliver, or indulge in panegyrics
    panegyrics=Elaborate praise or laudation; an encomium

     
  7. Amanda Beattie

    September 20, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Hehe.

    Fissiparous might not mean something good, but it sounds cool at least.

     
  8. Dorean Beattie

    September 20, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    I have to agree with you there… I’ll have to find some excuses to use it this next week… What about: I ate a very fissiparous orange yesterday… Today I wanted to be calm, but my emotions proved to be too fissiparous… Hmmm…

     
  9. Lauren L

    September 21, 2007 at 11:24 am

    I just signed up for both word of the day subscriptions. I’m excited to become a word nerd too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
