RSS

Quick 8th Year Anniversary Picnic Recap

17 Sep

– Gotta love weather reports. We were forecast to be 82F and sunny. Instead, it was about 74 and drizzly. It did warm up some by the end of the evening, but still…

– The day began early for me. I was sitting by the picnic area, having a burger for breakfast, when I made a new friend. David is five years old, and he just moved here from Florida. He can’t remember whether his parents moved here for Intro or not. He’s got some killer karate moves that he learned from watching a movie. He can balance on one foot. He found a popped baloon in the grass that he informed me was a “rocket balloon”, seeing how it was long and skinny and open at one end. It was some of the best conversation I’ve had in a long time! 🙂

– The first hour of games, I played kickball with my coworkers at the onething office. Phil, my boss, challenged the OTI core leaders to a game. We had a practice last Friday to sharpen our skills and be at the top of our game. Today, my team got crushed at kickball. I’m talking destroyed. PWND. Routed. Creamed. We did score some, but the other team scored a lot more. I think we can blame a couple of lost points on the fact that we changed balls halfway through, when one of those aforementioned core leaders kicked a big hole in the regulation kickball (no joke). We then finished the game with a dodgeball, which was much smaller and way bouncier. But we had a good time. Plus, my team had much cooler uniforms, which I think makes up for a lot.

Sweet onething Team uniform
Kickin’ it in my kickball uniform. The back says “ONETHING TEAM” #07

– I redeemed myself and soothed my ego as I took the second hour to play a few rounds of Spoons. Lost once, won twice, and was runner up in the last game against the current Spoons champion. Not bad. Not bad at all.

– My friend and former APP classmate Amy drove me home. That meant I didn’t have to wait for the shuttle, which was nice. I also got to spend a bit of time catching up with Amy, which was even nicer.

– I was getting out of her car when I remembered I left my hoodie at the baseball diamond where we played kickball. D’oh. I hope we collected stuff for lost and found…

– On the bright side, I found an excuse to make an emergency clothes-shopping run…

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2007 in Life Happens..., Night Watch

 

12 responses to “Quick 8th Year Anniversary Picnic Recap

  1. xristosdomini

    September 17, 2007 at 6:38 am

    TeeHee… you look oh-so-thrilled in that picture, too. Probably just being up too early, but it makes me laugh to see the words “kickin’ it” under a picture that says “put that camera down before I DO kick something….”

    Adam
    PS, if only I hadn’t had to go to work…

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    September 17, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    No, no; I have my game face on. The only thing I’m getting ready to kick is my opponent’s tail. Can’t you tell the difference? I’M IN THE ZONE, MAN!!! WHOOO!

    Okay. That last comment *is* from being up too early.

     
  3. Dorean Beattie

    September 17, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    I’m afraid I agree with Adam on this one… 🙂

    Oh, and by the way, the way cooler uniforms do in fact make up for a lot of other stuff!

     
  4. Adam Parker

    September 17, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    This is really funny, but the 5 year old you had that great conversation with is my son. And I’d just like to comment a little on the things He may have left out… We did move here from Florida and are in Intro, but moved here mostly for the environment to raise our kids in and the training opportunities that are here and have bought a house and will be here in KC for a many years. Also, those Karate moves were learned from his Dad, not a movie. And I’m not sure where he gained those conversation skills. 🙂

     
  5. Stephanie

    September 17, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Yes, David is mine. I know he showed you his karate moves, but his real desire is to become a ninja. He is very concerned if he can be a ninja and love Jesus though because they beat people up… so he sticks with karate in social settings to be non-controversial.

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    September 18, 2007 at 7:07 am

    Adam: You know what, I think he did mention he learned it from you. We did spend a little time talking about movies, though, so I must have gotten confused. I stand corrected. 🙂

    Stephanie: It was good to meet you (if only for a moment) at the picnic. And that is the most adorable thing I’ve heard in a very long time!

    And to you both: David is awesome. You guys are really blessed.

     
  7. Dorean Beattie

    September 18, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Oh my! I didn’t even meet David, and I already think he’s the cutest thing since Elmo!

     
  8. Christine

    September 19, 2007 at 2:31 am

    OK… a little off topic… but… I am determined to say this at least three different ways before I actually see you today.

    Happy Birthday!!!

    (I was going to try to tie the happy birthday thing to the 8th anniversary. Since your birthday is the same day as IHOP’s birthday. It was my excuse for commenting on the blog. But then my comment just started sounding too corny and I couldn’t do it. So… random it is.)

    ((By the way… I spelt tie “ty” when I first typed it up there. And, just now as I was typing to needlessly confess my odd little spelling hiccup, I typed “spent” instead of “spelt”. I know some people don’t like spelt. I do. I like it more than spelled. I should stop typing now.))

     
  9. Amanda Beattie

    September 19, 2007 at 3:10 am

    Spelt is also an alternative to wheat.

    And thanks. 🙂

     
  10. Dorean Beattie

    September 19, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Now I guess I know what kind of bread to make when you two come visit… I’ll make spelt bread. But, I think I’ll come up with a grandiloquent name for it, just for fun… 🙂

     
  11. Amanda Beattie

    September 19, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    Just as long as the bread is salubrious.

     
  12. Dorean Beattie

    September 20, 2007 at 9:12 am

    OK, if you insist… Guess that means I have to leave out the chocolate chips… 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
