RSS

Valuable Life Lesson

14 Sep

If you’re rinsing dishes and running the garbage disposal, and you see a knife slipping towards the drain, step one should be to shut off the switch, not try to stop the knife.

I saw our paring knife start to float towards the drain tonight, and figured I should avert disaster by stopping it before it got there. I couldn’t quite get ahold of it in time. It fell into the garbage disposal… handle first… meaning the blade started whipping around in the air. Right about where my hand was.

I had the sense to get my hand out of the way immediately; however I was trying to figure out what had happened and how bad I was hurt… so it was up to my quick thinking roommate Jen to shut the thing off. The damage is pretty minimal, all things considered. I got grazed a couple of times, plus one deeper gash on the middle and ring finger of my right hand. But nothing requiring stitches or ER trips or anything.

But I now know never, ever to do that again. And I also know to make sure all dishes are out of the sink, in case a knife is hiding under one of them, waiting to make its move again.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2007 in Life Happens..., Random

 

7 responses to “Valuable Life Lesson

  1. Dorean Beattie

    September 14, 2007 at 8:34 am

    Comment #1: I’m sorry I forgot to teach you this… My bad…

    Comment #2: You forgot to guard my momma’s heart by starting this story with, I’m OK, Mom, and I don’t need stiches, and I’m really fine, but last night… Don’t do that to me!

    Comment #3: I’m glad you’re OK.

    Comment #4 Thank Jen for me!

     
  2. brian

    September 14, 2007 at 10:42 am

    How about: “It’s good for you; builds character”

    Or: “whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”

    Sorry, the only dad cliché I really feel at this moment is: what are you, nuts?! Don’t do that!!

    Glad you can still count to ten without help!

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    September 14, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    I suppose you could tell me to walk it off.

     
  4. anita h

    September 14, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    Amanda- glad you are ok. Doreen- I know just what you mean!

     
  5. bancheese

    September 15, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    At least it wasn’t a double-edged knife, which, as far as I know, has never been invented (at least as a kitchen utensil).

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    September 16, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Thank goodness for that. And thank goodness that I own the absolute bottom-of-the line cutlery from Target. Come to think of it, if this particular knife was two-edged, it probably woulnd’t have done much more damage than it actually did.

     
  7. Dorean Beattie

    September 18, 2007 at 7:57 am

    If it was double edged, you could still say you’re luck it wasn’t a ninja star thingy… That would be worse… I think?

     

Leave a Reply

 
