RSS

Coming Soon to a Study Group Near You…

29 Aug

Well, technically, “…to a study group near me.” But I’m tossing this out as an invitation for anyone out there who is looking for a Bible study plan.

A few NW ladies and myself are going to start going through the book Word of Life by Thomas C. Oden. It’s part two of a three-volume set on systematic theology… and my favorite part is that Oden approaches the topic of theology through the lens of the Trinity. The book is very solid theologically, helping give you the language and terminology in a way that is actually moving to your heart. This is not one of those dry-toast theological treatises. You get the feeling that the author really has tasted a little bit of what he’s talking about.

So here’s the plan… We’ll be meeting once a week to discuss Word of Life. After the Bible study, my goal is to log on here and give a summary of what we talked about in the meeting. Since we’ll be reading on the same schedule, I’ll post what section we’ll be looking at next week. This way, we can all read ahead, writing down questions, comments, or revelations we receive while going through the book, and be on the same page for discussion. Some weeks I’ll have questions ready ahead of time to give out as a “jump start” for individual study.

For those of us in KC, we’re going to be doing our reading outside of the prayer room if possible, because while in the prayer room, we’re going to be prayer-reading through different Christological passages. I’m starting with the Gospel of John (that should keep me busy for a really long time), but other options would be Ephesians 1, Colossians 1, several different passages in Hebrews, or even Old Testament prophecies like Isaiah 42, etc. So while we’re doing the studying, we’re also making sure to turn it into prayer so it impacts our hearts, more than just our minds.

If you want to join with us, I would highly recommend getting the book. Even if you can’t get ahold of the book, check in on Saturday nights (or, probably more realistically, Sundays for you day folks), and see where we’re at. Please feel free to leave comments with any questions or thoughts, and let’s talk about Jesus! Every post will be tagged “Word of Life Bible Study” for easy reference.

I’m so excited about this study group. I can’t wait to spend some quality time learning about the One we love…

 

4 responses to “Coming Soon to a Study Group Near You…

  1. Dorean Beattie

    August 29, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    My book in on order~ I’m enthusiastic, boing, boing, boing… 😉

     
  2. anita h

    August 31, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    can this be done long distance? i’d love to follow along from Phoenix. I bought the book this summer.
    anita

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    August 31, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    That’s a big part of the reason I’m including the study on my blog; I would love for people to be able to do it long-distance if they like. 🙂 I’ve never tried to an online Bible study before, but I figured it would be fun to give it a whirl…

    Yay! I’m excited you’ll be tracking with us. Our first update will be tomorrow night.

     
  4. Amanda Beattie

    August 31, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    By the way, my mom will be following with us from Pennsylvania, so you’re not the only non-KC’er who will be jumping in.

    I have to say it again: I’m really excited you’re joining us. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
