RSS

Charity Bates is my Hero

09 Aug

So I was prayer leading tonight, and there were adjustments being made to the lights and cameras. We’ve recently redone the prayer room, and it takes a while to fine-tune everything to actually work correctly. Tonight, during the NightWatch, while there were orange ladders and lifts and lights all over the place, one thing stuck out to me most — and that would be the complete and total amazingness of Charity Bates.

Charity is the IHOP-KC lighting director. And an FSM student. And a sound tech. And anointed woman of God. And a terrifically cool person.

Tonight I watched her work really hard at a tedious, thankless job, and do so with diligence and excellence. She is one of those rare people on the earth who keeps a servant’s heart even in the midst of difficulty. This lady is definitely a favorite of the Lord.

I just wanted to give a shout out. 🙂

(And Wendy, who is at the table with me, agrees that Charity is really cool, and a major blessing to NightWatch.)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2007 in Night Watch

 

7 responses to “Charity Bates is my Hero

  1. Brian Wikene

    August 9, 2007 at 10:12 am

    So that’s why! I live in Las Vegas and log into the prayer room whenever I can. I hadn’t logged in for about two weeks and when I logged into on Tuesday (I think) Misty was leading worship – and the cameras were “stuck” at the piano for 20 minutes or more at a time!

    I did notice the change in staging/colors… 🙂

     
  2. zackhensley

    August 9, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    I agree! Charity Bates is one of the most beautiful wonderful servant hearted people I’ve ever met!

     
  3. xristosdomini

    August 10, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Careful Zack, you already have a girlfriend… ;-D

    But yes, even though she has already graduated FSM (shakes fist), Charity is one of those truly awesome individuals. And the colored lights are pretty cool too.

     
  4. Kacie

    August 12, 2007 at 12:14 am

    i love charity bates!

    she is in fact one of the most outstanding people i’ve ever met. yes. God bless her.

     
  5. Charity

    August 18, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Amanda! Thank you so much! I certainly felt more like a distraction than a blessing to the nightwatch that night. So thanks for noticing and not telling me to move to days! Also, Carrie, you don’t have to worry about Zack, I already have a boyfriend of my own…

     
  6. xristosdomini

    August 18, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Charity… I ain’t Carrie… And I really wouldn’t want to be dating Zack… nice guy, but I think it would be a little disturbing.

    Adam

     
  7. Amanda Beattie

    August 19, 2007 at 2:05 am

    Adam, if there was a way to leave an eye-roll in the comments just for you, I’d do it.

    🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
