RSS

Keeping the Fire Burning

29 Jul

Since I’ve been at IHOP, any time an event needs to take place in the prayer room, somewhere on the missions base, there is a “keep the fire burning” meeting happening. Sometimes it’s just a couple people and a guitar in a back room. It used to be at the Herrnhut clubhouse quite regularly. Wherever it ends up being, it’s a small meeting of people keeping the prayer and worship cooking while the big prayer room is in use.

I’ve always wanted to be in one of these meetings. Last night my team got to lead one. Because the prayer room has been in the FSM building, we had to keep the fire burning as Mike preached at EGS.

We showed up at the Justice Prayer Room at 7:15… to an empty building. It was weird. No music thumping on stage. No intercessors rocking in the chairs. It was hard to believe this was actually a bona fide IHOP prayer room.

We briefed, and led an intercession session. There was barely anyone in the room. Most of the intercessors were our own group singers, plus the people on our Saturday fasting team. There were maybe six other folks in the room.

It made me think of the “old days,” times that I have mostly heard about and only experienced a little bit. Our gathering was so small and out of the way and sparsely attended that I couldn’t help but think of the old trailer the prayer room used to be in. I hadn’t realized how thoroughly I had gotten used to the large(ish) facility and cameras and full prayer meetings… until suddenly we didn’t have them. As I sat there playing my flute, at times it almost felt like I was at a practice session. But I quickly snapped myself out of that and had to marvel again at the wonderful calling I get to be a part of.

That little prayer meeting counted in the eyes of heaven. God really heard every prayer. Our hearts really loved Him during that worship time. From His perspective, our time was not wasted at all. This was not a step down from our intercession sets in a big prayer room in front of GOD TV. This was real intercession and it had real impact on our city. It was actually really fun to be in this little hidden corner of the IHOP world and hold a prayer meeting of few people and no recognition. God is brilliant in how He has set up His kingdom.

I do have to say that ending the set was the weirdest part. We stopped. And nobody else came on afterwards. My little 24/7/365-trained self freaked out. Even though I knew that the prayer meeting was going full blast back at FSM, it sure felt like we had just let the fire go out. I can see the news article now: “Well, it was good while it lasted, but after nearly eight years of 24/7, IHOP-KC has to start over–thanks to this team…”

Hee. Sometimes life is just one adventure after another…

 

5 responses to “Keeping the Fire Burning

  1. Michaela

    July 29, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Amanda, that is a normal JPR prayer meeting these days. If we have 5 people in the room at the 8 a.m. Intercession sets, it’s a big meeting. It’s such a different dynamic, but truly fun.

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    July 30, 2007 at 2:07 am

    I believe it!

     
  3. Dorean Beattie

    July 30, 2007 at 9:47 am

    I never thought about the freak out of just stopping before… I bet God gets a kick out of that part!

     
  4. Vince Delmonte

    April 14, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    After reading this article, I just feel that I need more info. Could you share some more resources ?

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    April 19, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Vince, I would recommend browsing around the http://www.ihop.org website. Especially check out the free resources page at http://www.ihop.org/free .

     

Leave a Reply

 
