RSS

Compulsive Reading

21 Jul

I think it’s high time I put up another random post. And to that end, I must confess before you all that I am a compulsive reader.

What I mean is that if there is legible text within my view, I have to stop and read it. It doesn’t really matter if I’ve read it before. It doesn’t matter if it’s insanely boring. It doesn’t matter if it has any relevance to my life. Must… read…

I didn’t quite realize that it was anything out of the ordinary until I caught myself on the road once, compulsively reading license plates. Since then, I have caught myself compuslively reading all kinds of bizarre things. One time Christine and I read every single word on a half-pint milk carton — including the lot numbers and ink tests. You know, those weird letter/number sequences that are printed in four different colors? Yep, we read them, and then analyzed their differences.

Sometimes I compulsively read out loud. Usually around Christine. Sometimes I find myself reading the ridiculously oversold advertisements in the junk mail. Other times it’s a magazine cover. Yesterday it was a can of tuna.

I wish I could say I was kidding about that last one.

So the moral of the story is, if you ever need to get ahold of me, point some printed text at me. You will almost certainly gain my immediate rapt attention.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2007 in Life Happens..., Random

 

5 responses to “Compulsive Reading

  1. Jess Gliserman

    July 21, 2007 at 9:12 am

    That hilarious…but I’m sort of the same way. I’ve read everything on every bottle of shampoo in the house…

     
  2. brianbeattie

    July 21, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    I would recommend my blog for your compulsive reading, but I’m not sure it’s as interesting as the average milk carton. 😉

     
  3. Christine

    July 21, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Haha… it’s true… the can of tuna. I was there to witness it. I’m glad to see you finally going public with this compulsion. 🙂

     
  4. Dorean Beattie

    July 23, 2007 at 10:14 am

    I’m afraid you got this from me… I probably should have told you sooner… 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
