RSS

Lessons Gleaned from Going Global

02 Jun

IHOP-KC is now filmed live, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Somewhere on the planet we are live on GOD TV. I’m learning a lot from this whole experience… for those of you who keep up with my blog, you probably know what to expect in the ensuing list: Some things thoughtful, some prayerful, and some really random.

1) Prayer is not bound by distance. I re-learned this on the first night we went live… or rather, tried to go live. I was asked to pray on the microphone, along with just about all of the NightWatch prayer leaders, to be aired on GOD TV during the Global Day of Prayer. During the midnight set, I could tell something was wrong… media people were scrambling, and the prayer cycles were not going at all as discussed in the briefing. Come to find out later that the audio was whacked out, and we never cut to the prayer room. Ironically enough, it was as the global thing was not working that I realized how global this thing truly was. Whether or not the media stuff worked, there really were millions of people in Africa praying in that moment. We were really partnering with them on the other side of the planet. God heard both groups of people just fine, and it counted in heaven. Prayer is truly powerful stuff.

2) I’m apparently allergic to transitions. For three or four days solid, I had this horrible thing where I would have a sneezing fit right before it was my turn to go on the platform. So I’m backstage just trying to breathe, knowing I’m going to have to go in front of global TV in moments, and hoping I don’t look like a gasping, wheezing, sneezing dork when it’s finally my turn to go on.

3) Going global is so far not that different from going local. We just do what we do… Except now we have cameras staring at us. Which is slightly weird.

– 3.a.) I have gained all sorts of renewed appreciation for the people I work with. I have not seen a single worship leader have the TV exposure go to his/her head. I have not seen any singers or prayer leaders start trying to hog the platform. As far as I can tell, people haven’t started chickening out of singing or leading prayer from the platform just because we have cameras–with a few million people somewhere on planet earth watching us–pointing at us. There are some great folks on the NightWatch who are faithfully showing up, night after night, doing what they have always done whether or not anyone was watching.

-3.b.) I also appreciate the way all these folks have been rolling with the punches. We’ve had to change stuff in the look and set-up of the prayer room in order to make it a bit more broadcast friendly. We’ve had to adjust our roles and our mindsets about what we do with “our” prayer room time. And while we’re all still trying to get our bearings in these uncharted waters, people aren’t complaining. Nobody’s threatening to quit if such-and-such a thing doesn’t go their way. I am very blessed to run with some seriously humble people.

-3.c.) I’m really going to have to get used to “building the ship at sea” since I plan to be here long term.

4) If you’re at the prayer leader spot, the camera catches mostly your profile. Hence, if I accidentally let my hair fall in my face as I pray, it looks like Cousin It is leading the prayer meeting. I discovered this while watching the webstream recording. And since I’m blessed with the Beattie profile, every now and then I looked like Cousin It with a nose. During that particular broadcast, it was Cousin It with a nose and a bad hair day. Oh well… live and learn.

5) If you’ve ever received a prophecy about touching the nations, there’s no telling what creative ideas God has in mind to make that happen… our little prayer room being a case in point.

6) God is really good at getting you into situations you never would have volunteered for if you only would have known on the front end all that would happen to you in the process. And then you find yourself on the other side, still loving Him and loving the job He put you in, yet completely baffled as to how you ended up there.

I think that’s enough for now, but this certainly isn’t the end. God moves in brilliant and mysterious ways, and I know He is leading us well…

 

9 responses to “Lessons Gleaned from Going Global

  1. Mrs. I

    June 2, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Amanda, as a “daytimer,” I’ve really been blessed by seeing the Night Watch in action over the past few days now that the sets are taped. Unfortunately, I’ve been staying up way too late because I hate to turn it off!! You’re all doing a tremendous job and I really admire everyone for putting yourselves “out there.” I’ve enjoyed hearing your first-hand perspective. Thanks for sharing! : )

     
  2. Stumpy and Stil

    June 3, 2007 at 12:11 am

    Amanda, thank you for the comment you made 8 thousand years ago. We’re back.

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    June 3, 2007 at 12:34 am

    @ Mrs. I: That playback feature is pretty cool. It’s a little odd knowing that people can actually watch us during sane hours now…

    @ S & S: Hey! Glad to hear it. 🙂

     
  4. Dorean Beattie

    June 3, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Reading point #4, I was taken back to when you were young and used to do Cousin It impressions on purpose, just to entertain us. do you suppose that was prophetic? 😉

     
  5. Adam Parker

    June 3, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    When I first saw the prayer room being broadcast on God tv a few days ago I was amazed at how many camera angles they were getting. Then it became kinda strange that I was seeing all of these different angles that I had never seen before and I started to wonder (and maybe you can respond to this for me).

    It must be really weird having cameras in your face or right beside you while you are singing or especially if you are praying in the mic or even just sitting in one of the chairs praying and a camera is watching you. So really millions of people could be watching you pray! This is awesome, although I think the forerunner/justice prayer room may start to gain appeal to some because of its hiddenness.

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    June 4, 2007 at 1:10 am

    Adam,
    It can be a bit odd. I’ve never actually had a camera in my face, per se… they do all kinds of zoom tricks to get that look, but the camera is a good twenty feet or so away. But yes, it’s a lot different. I have to think about my conduct on stage in a whole different way — not only do I want to behave in a way that won’t distract the room, but I want to be careful not to distract who knows how many people who will be giggling if I blow my nose during a camera close-up. I actually haven’t felt a lot of pressure knowing that millions of eyes are on me; I wish I could say I was just that spiritual and devoid of the fear of man, but actually, it’s just easy for me not to think about it when all I see are five cameras and two camera guys.

    The JPR will probably gain some appeal, but at the same time, that’s only going to be hidden for so long, too. Hiddenness is a bizarre little season in that many people who are in it often hate it, and many people who suddenly find themselves out of it often want to go back. You can’t run from God’s call on your life once you’ve said yes. Well… I guess technically you can run, but it’s really hard to do and not at all wise. He usually wins. Which is a good thing… you want Him to win. Actually, He always wins, but whether or not you say yes determines whether or not it goes well with you as He wins. But I digress.

    The point is that the place of hiddenness is a beautiful, glorious, painful, agonizing, thrilling, delightful, frustrating season, all at once. But the key word is that it’s a season. Not everyone is going to wind up on international TV, but everyone is going to have periods in their life when they’re more tucked away in their own little God corner than at other times. There are seasons where God takes you seriously for that one ministry time at that one revival meeting where you went up to the front weeping and saying, “Here am I! Send me!”
    Once you’ve given God that blank check, you’ve gotta be ready for Him to cash it. I think that’s happening in a large degree to IHOP right now… and I, for one, don’t want to try and outrun God on this.

     
  7. ruthbloem

    June 4, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    yeah the whole prayer room thing is amazing. just the other day i talked to mom and said “look how they can get in your bible! that’s a few million people who can actually almost read what you’re reading in your bible!” it’s the whole camera zoom thing of course, but it looks funny/weird. i’ll probably go to the restrooms less than before…

    i’m happy i can get to the archives now. it’s amazing..but it makes it harder for me to choose a set.. now i’m like..okay, first this one, then this one..and then i’ll take this..and then i have to get back to this one..i mean..hello…i can’t watch them all. anyways, but it’s fun to say “well Jesus…shall we do this one…or this one…” 🙂

    but…i wanna see the cousin it thing so when are you on the platform? …i mean i don’t really know who you are, haven’t seen you before.. so the cousin it thing would be fun to watch!

     
  8. Amanda Beattie

    June 4, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Hehe. Well if I can help it, the Cousin It thing will never happen again… it looked really weird.

     
  9. Dorean Beattie

    June 9, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Aw, come on, Amanda! Cousin It is cute!

     

Leave a Reply

 
