RSS

People are Googling WHAT?

07 May

So one of my favorite things about WordPress is the stats page, and all the various fun stuff you can keep track of in it. One of these delightful little categories is “Search Engine Terms,” which will let you see what keywords are turning up your blog in internet searches. Sometimes the search terms make a lot of sense, like, “Road to Emmaus meditation”, which brought up this page. Sometimes it’s a bit more far-fetched; for instance, I’ve had lots of hits on “fire”, pointing to this page. But one search term forever takes the cake. (*Drumroll…….*)

“floatie sugar shows”

You can’t make this stuff up, folks.

This, of course, would direct people to my comments on the NSFSG’s (Non-Soluble Floatie Sugar Globules), the technical term which I made up for the little dehydrated marshmallows in prepackaged hot cocoa. How the search turned up my site was not the mystery here. The perplexing issue was what on earth someone was doing on Google looking for “floatie sugar shows”.

I wondered what it could be. Then I wondered if I didn’t want to know what it was. Curiosity got the better of me, though, and I Googled it.

I didn’t find any “floatie sugar shows,” but I did find “Sugar Floaties,” which, to my surprise, are a real thing — a shoe, to be precise. This kind of shoe…

Ahh, the things you learn on Google.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2007 in Random

 

2 responses to “People are Googling WHAT?

  1. Dorean Beattie

    May 8, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Cool! Now I know what to get you for your birthday! A whole assortment of Sugar Floaties! We could get them in a bunch of different colors so they would go with everything in your wardrobe!

    On the topic of how people find your page, I noticed the other day someone found me on Google by searching for “onions are dangerous”. Like you, I had to take a look. Guess what? I found hundereds of sites talking about the dangers of feeding your dog raw onions. No kidding… Gotta love the Internet!

     
  2. standonthewall

    May 8, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    I bet “floatie sugar” is a band and someone was looking for local shows. HA! That’s a really weird name for a band….

     

Leave a Reply

 
