RSS

Getting My Mords Wixed Up

28 Apr

So I hope I’m not the only one with this problem. You’re singing a song — probably one you’ve known for years — and it just doesn’t come out right. For me, I have several of these, and they’re pretty consistent.

The one I bumped into tonight is actually a relatively new song Clay Edwards wrote, with a line “You [God] see me, You hear me…” I have to make a conscious effort every time not to say, “You see me, You feel me…” I don’t know why I do it; it’s not like it even makes sense. I suppose I could try to play it off by saying it’s slang for God’s compassion: “He feels me, dude. We’re tight.”

As if that weren’t awkward enough, I usually realize my mistake halfway through the word, and correct it midstride. So the line turns into “You see me, you fear me.” Bad news. What started out just sounding goofy turned into heresy. I’m sure glad God has a sense of humor.

Another one of my classics is “My God reigns/And I’ll dance the dance of praise/My God reigns/And I’ll worship without shame.” My brain compacts those to where I sing, “My God reigns/And I’ll dance the dance of shame…” Which, of course, usually distracts and amuses me as I try to imagine what such a dance could possibly look like.

So if you have any particularly genius lines like this, please do comment and let’s all share and enjoy our tongue-twistiness. 😀

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2007 in Life Happens..., Random

 

14 responses to “Getting My Mords Wixed Up

  1. Christine

    April 28, 2007 at 7:58 am

    Mmm… nope. Can’t help you out in this one. I don’t ever make mistakes when I sing…

    I laughed quite a bit when I read this, though. You can just ask Gabrielle. She was sitting next to me trying to accomplish something as I kept bursting out in laughter at the reading of each new sentence. No filler puns here. No ma’am.

    (Oh yeah…that Venti chai just before bed? Bad idea. I’m wide awake right now. I think you’re asleep. Good for you. I admire your intelligence in NOT ordering a drink. This is going to be a fun Saturday. Ooh… maybe we should play Settlers. I would crush everyone! Then again, that’s a hard game to fit into a 30 minute break… so never mind that idea. Umm… I’m still rambling…)

     
  2. Dorean Beattie

    April 28, 2007 at 10:21 am

    You already know mine. Remember that CD we had of scripture songs that included Luke 10:19? I still have trouble getting that one out right. It should be “I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions”. It tends to come out “skates and snorpions”. At least yours contains actual words!

     
  3. Robin

    April 28, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    LOL. Wow. I totally know what you mean. I do it mostly when I’m listening to the radio and it’s a song I don’t know well. I always do that correcting in the middle of the word and roll my eyes in self-disdain at the word it becomes. Hilarious!

     
  4. stephanie

    April 28, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    In the song Abandon by Jason Morant, the lyrics are “you have my heart and the rest belongs to You.” When our worship leader picked out the song by ear, he thought it was saying “I have my arms and the rest belongs to you.”

    No one spoke up that they didn’t think it made sense that we wouldn’t give God our arms. Everyone thought there was some deeper spiritual meaning that we just weren’t understanding and didn’t want to say we didn’t understand it for fear of appearing immature in our understanding (can I say, pride?). We sang the song like this for months until someone finally asked the worship leader, “why do we need our arms?”

     
  5. Mrs. I.

    April 28, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    To quote Robin: I too, “roll my eyes in self disdain.” I don’t have any particular favorites. The choir songs change weekly; so, I just move on to new mistakes. : )

    I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this post and the comments. “dance the dance of shame”, “skates and snorpions” and “I have my arms” – you all have made me LOL!!

     
  6. emilymea

    April 28, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    I have so many songs that I do that to. Unfortunately I’m still waking up so I can’t think of any of them off the top of my head. If I come up with any good ones I’ll be sure to post them.

     
  7. ruthbloem

    April 29, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    ha ha, yeah…unfortunately i know what you’re talking about..
    the mistakes i hate the most are when I sing:

    it’s all about me (Ruth) and not about you (God)
    when It should be…it’s all about you (God), and not about me (Ruth)..

    when I do that, I repent real fast and sing the song again and then make sure i sing it OK! 😀

    I’m really glad God sees my heart when I sing those words!

     
  8. Amanda Beattie

    April 29, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Ruth: That’s funny! That made me remember how I usually accidentally butcher Misty’s song to where I sing, “It’s not about You….” I mean, WHOOPS. I mean, it IS all about You, I mean… uh… yeah.

    Me and You just switch way too easily in songs.

     
  9. emilymea

    April 29, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    Remembered the one I was going to comment with earlier. 🙂

    One of our pastors and his wife wrote this song called “We Say Yes” that the has a standard “mis-sing” for many of us here at the church. The lyrics go “I’ll go where You want me to go/ I’ll do what You want me to do/I’ll be what you want me to be/I’ll say what You want me to say/ We say “Yes” to you Lord…” You can sometimes hear it sung as “I’ll go where I want me to go/ I’ll do what I want me to do/ I’ll be what I want me to be/ I’ll say what I want me to say/ I say “Yes” to me Lord…”

    What started out as an honest mistake of flipping pronouns has turned into a church wide joke.

     
  10. brian

    April 30, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    My most embarrasing incident happened in front of a home-church group – or was it childrens church? Hmm, whatever, they should get a real musician and worship leader, and let me sit down.

    The song is a happy-clappy kids song, maybe you know it: Lots of repetition of these two verses:

    Jesus and me/We both agree/I love Him and He loves me/All my sins are washed away I’ve been redeemed.
    The devil and me/We both agree/I hate him and he hates me/All my sins are washed away I’ve been redeemed.

    I’m no musician, and almost no rythym. When I am trying to accompany my own singing using chords on a cheapo casio keyboard, I get easily flustered. It starts by missing a fillin, then hitting the wrong chord, and suddenly I have no idea whether I’m on the “Jesus” verse or the “devil”. SO do I sing I love Him, or hate him? You don’t have to get that wrong in front of a kids group more than once before it’s time to sit down.

    My new strategy? No singing about the devil in childrens groups. period.

    And if the devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack [ouch]

     
  11. Dorean Beattie

    April 30, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    heehee

     
  12. Amanda Beattie

    May 1, 2007 at 2:53 am

    Hah! That makes me think of your lil’ baptism by brick wall, too… not exactly mixing up words but it was also quite funny. 😀

     
  13. brian

    May 1, 2007 at 7:40 am

    I’m sure I have no idea what incident you are referring to. I’ve probably dissociated or blocked it out

    You are welcome to remind me provided it is understood that I can’t help it, I was just born that way…

     
  14. justin hanneken

    May 2, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I crack up when i hear others or myself singing this old song by sonicflood called “in the secret.” The chorus says “I want to know You, I want to see Your Face, I want to know You more, I want to touch You, I want to hear your voice, I want to know you more.” The weird thing is, for some reason it’s so easy to get the “hear” and “see” mixed up. Next thing you know, half the people are singing, “I want to feel your Face” which kind of makes sense I guess, but others are singing, “I want to see your Voice” which I’m still trying to figure out how that works. confusing, but yeah, I getcha.

     

Leave a Reply

 
