RSS

Shooting Down an Old Adage

27 Apr

We’ve probably all heard the old saying, “All good things must come to an end.” It’s a pretty depressing statement, when you think about it — just a fatalistic way to make some sort of shallow peace with the crummy aspects of life. And it struck me just tonight that it is absolutely, 100% untrue.

This is one of the things I love about being at IHOP. I am surrounded by teaching, songs, and really godly people that help drill the Word of God into me, whether on the clock or off. Just tonight, I found myself quipping, “All good things must come to an end,” yet before the words were all the way out of my mouth, I realized that they were wrong. The New Heavens and the New Earth never pass away. The increase of His government and peace knows no end. He shall reign forever and ever. Our lives, in perfect joy and love, in the presence of God, are never going to end.

As I was verbally processing this, my good friend Christine remarked, “And you know what else? All evil will have to come to an end.”

It totally made my night. I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to discard a cliche in my life. Praise the Lord, folks. This is great news.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2007 in Heart Stuff, Intimacy with God, Random

 

6 responses to “Shooting Down an Old Adage

  1. brian

    April 27, 2007 at 10:19 am

    All’s well that ends well?

    I bet that one’s on the block, too…

     
  2. Dorean Beattie

    April 27, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Thanks for this post. I needed to hear that message today.

     
  3. anita h

    April 27, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    amen! i agree with Christine- all evil will end and it will end FOREVER! now that is a message.

     
  4. Christine

    April 27, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Yay… you did blog about it! But you didn’t blog about unopened windows and paint fumes?

    I think it might be significant (or… perhaps foolish) to note that this conversation took place in a room with no open windows and a TON of wet paint in our hands and on the walls. Next time we do that, let’s open a window, eh?

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    April 28, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Christine: Shh. I like to think we stumble upon our profound revelations while we are in our right minds. Of course, if you would like to blog about paint fumes, feel free…

    Dad: I think that one could possibly be salvaged if we define what “All’s well…” means. All things do work together for good for those who love God…

    Mom: Glad to oblige. 😀

    Anita: Isn’t it glorious??? God is so brilliant to set up creation this way.

     
  6. Robin

    April 28, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    Awesome! How encouraging!

     

Leave a Reply

 
