RSS

Of Bruised Reeds and Smoking Flax…

18 Apr

A smoking flax He will not quench...

Link to photo source 

“A bruised reed He will not break, and smoking flax He will not quench; He will bring forth justice for truth.” (Isa 53:3)

I’ve been having one of those “smoldering wick” (NIV) days/weeks. I can’t remember the last time I was so emotionally fried all the time. As a normally very stable person, it bothers me when I don’t have very much control over how my own emotions rule me. The good news is that it means I’m alive and a for-real human being. The bad news is that it’s not much fun feeling like that candle pictured above looks.

However, the great news is that Jesus is a gentle, tenderhearted Servant (Isa 42:1-3; Matt 11:28-30). I have been amazed over and over through this little journey how He has faithfully met me and lovingly cared for me, even as I’m tempted to quit or throw a temper tantrum or sulk or go into hiding or something… uh… less than holy. He is so kind. We can run to Him in the times when we feel like we’re all but spent, and so long as we say yes to Him, He will breathe on our weak little flame until our righteousness goes forth as the light, and our salvation as the noonday (Psalm 37:6). Nothing is too difficult for Him; He can turn our smoldering wick into something a bit more like…

Link to photo source

Praise God. For real.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2007 in Bible, Heart Stuff, Isaiah

 

2 responses to “Of Bruised Reeds and Smoking Flax…

  1. standonthewall

    April 19, 2007 at 8:56 am

    ugghhh… Amanda as always you hit the nail on the head. Exactly what I’ve been feeling this week…

     
  2. justin hanneken

    May 2, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    You don’t know me but I did a google photo search for righteousness and stumbled upon your site. I praise God for you and this entry in particular. thank you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
