RSS

Enjoying Jesus’ sense of humor again…

11 Apr

I wasn’t planning on writing a part two to this post, but as I continue to write on Luke 24, it continues to flip me out. I love the way Jesus deals with His disciples post-resurrection.

So we left off last time with Cleopas and the unnamed disciple booking it back to Jerusalem to report that they had actually eaten dinner with Jesus. They arrive back to find the eleven apostles all abuzz with the news, “The Lord is risen indeed, and has appeared to Simon [probably Simon Peter, see 1Cor 15:5]”! So Peter had seen Him, and the apostles were convinced that Jesus was really alive.

This must have been tremendously exciting news to the two from Emmaus. “No kidding! Peter saw Him, too? You’ll never believe the road trip we just had…”

Luke 24:36 reads, “Now as they said these things…” so while they were still telling the apostles all about their journey, “…Jesus Himself stood in the midst of them.”

Genius, I tell you. The timing could not be more perfect. No announcement, no fanfare, no entrance. Literally, no entrance — He didn’t use the door. He just showed up.

And again, we see how profoundly human these disciples were, and how prone to doing goofy things they were. It’s comforting to see. The first words out of Jesus’ mouth were, “Peace to you.” The first reaction of the disciples was that “they were terrified and frightened.” So essentially, Jesus shows up and says, “Don’t freak out,” and the disciples all freak out anyway.

Not only did they freak out, but they did so because they thought they were seeing a ghost. Remember, this is mere moments after they testified how Jesus was risen indeed. Peter had seen Him, alive. The two from Emmaus had seen Him, alive. And now the assumption was that He was a spook. It actually really encourages me to see how thick the disciples could be sometimes — it gives me hope for myself! If they ultimately made it in spite of themselves, by golly, so can I.

The best part is seeing how completely gentle Jesus is with them, even in their senseless doubt. He offered them His hands and feet to examine, so they could assure themselves that He was real flesh and bones. The disciples’ response? “…they still did not believe for joy, and marveled…” (24:41). They were moving in the right direction, but still needed a little push. So Jesus asked them for a snack.

Once He had their attention and they’d calmed down, He opened up their understanding, gently leading them down that same journey as the disciples on the road. I love to see how He consistently demonstrates compassion and love to these guys — and definitely, yes, a sense of humor.

 
 

7 responses to “Enjoying Jesus’ sense of humor again…

  1. Dorean

    April 11, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    What do you suppose it means “…they still did not believe FOR JOY,”. Joy kept them from believing? Is that like when we say “I can’t believe it” meaning we don’t necesarily NOT believe, but are just in shock? I’m confused…

    PS-I like that your musings on this passage brought you to the conclusion God is a genius. I mean, at one level, it’s like “DUH!” but on another level, I don’t think I ever thought of Him like that before, and I like it… Pretty cool…

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    April 11, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    I think it means that it was “Too good to be true”. I suspect Luke chose that term as a tongue-in-cheek reference to their lack of belief overall.

     
  3. jareddiehl

    April 11, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    Jesus is the funniest person ever….I can’t wait to pick his brain when we meet face to face.

    I mean I think I am funny but the Man, the Branch, the Christ, The Son of the most creative creator- Jesus beats all my funny home videos hands down.

    I like this- keep writing..

     
  4. Maranda

    April 11, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Amanda this is good. I love the way you paraphrase the Bible. You inspired me in our small group to get a blog. I have one now, but who knows if I’ll actually keep up with it.

     
  5. Rob Velez

    April 11, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    I think we often paint the disciples as thick headed when if the depths of our lives and our responses to the moves of God in our lives we are equally as clueless! great post what a fun read! 🙂

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    April 11, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Jared – Thanks! 🙂 And I agree, Jesus has the best sense of humor ever. (He has to if He could make us with the capability of humor ourselves…)

    Maranda – Yay! I’m looking forward to hearing what you’ve got to say.

    Rob – That’s what I love so much about reading the disciples… I recognize myself over and over and over in these guys. I would be just as dorky were I inserted in the same circumstances, I’m sure. 🙂

     
  7. Dorean

    April 12, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    I agree totally about seeing myself being just as thick-headed as the disciples. For decades I’ve heard sermons about the lily-livered Peter, actually daring to deny Jesus on the night of his arrest. How dare he??? I was always bothered by that, feeling like it was unfair, but never thought much past that. Then I saw “The Passion of the Christ”. In that movie I saw Peter, surrounded by a crowd of people thirsty to see Jesus’ blood shed, and my first thought was, “Dang, he’s brave! I’d be home hiding under the bed!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
