RSS

“Behold My Servant…”

10 Apr

Stuart preached a message a few weeks ago on the Servanthood of Jesus (for a fun synopsis of the sermon, see Katty’s post here). I remember when I first heard Stuart talk about this a couple of years ago, and it blew my mind. This time around, I was a little more prepared for it, but I still found myself undone all over again. What kind of amazing God is this?

I don’t have tremendously developed thoughts on this, but everything seems to be condensing around Isaiah’s Servant Songs  to me right now (Isa 42-55). Justice will only be released on the earth because Jesus is a Servant (Isa 42, 49).  Israel will be saved because Jesus is a Servant (Isa 49). Salvation is possible, because Jesus is a Servant (Isa 52-53). His Servanthood is His leadership. His Servanthood explains the entire history of salvation. He will still be a Servant when He returns. The Ruler over the kings of the earth (Rev 1:5) is also the Servant of rulers (Isa 49:7).

I can’t get away from these chapters. They keep coming up as I study for our commentary, as I prayer lead, and as I meditate. It’s totally revamping (again) the way I see leadership in general, and the Lord’s leadership in particular.

I’m sure you will see more thoughts on this in the days to come… hopefully a bit more coherent and organized. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 10, 2007 in Bible, Isaiah, Knowledge of God, Theology

 

One response to ““Behold My Servant…”

  1. Maciek

    April 11, 2007 at 1:05 am

    I was struck by this topic as well, it makes me think who he really is that he became servant forever. Something that can not be undone.

     

Leave a Reply

 
