RSS

…And then there was desk.

06 Apr

When I moved to my new house, I finally had room for a desk.  It’s been a long time coming, and I’ve been wanting one for a while. But at long last, I had the space, we placed an order, and yesterday it came — 127 lbs. of do-it-yourself pressboard glory. Never has a random pile of wood looked so beautiful to me.

127 lbs. of pressboard glory

I actually put it together myself. My buddy Tom helped me flip it over from its front to its back, but other than that, I can honestly say that I put it together with my own two hands. Of course, with the patented twist-lock and slide-together technology, it hardly counts as carpentry. More like grown-up Lego’s. Except… more useful. And more expensive. And heavier. And carrying greater risk of injury. (Miraculously, I don’t have any exciting stories to share in regards to that. Dropped something on my toe. Broke a couple fingernails. No funny circumstances.)

Starting to look like a hutch!

 But it’s a DESK! And that makes me a very, very happy camper. In fact, I’m sitting at it as we speak to compose this blog. It’s lovely. Finished product below.

Voila!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 6, 2007 in Life Happens..., Random

 

One response to “…And then there was desk.

  1. ruthbloem

    April 8, 2007 at 3:47 am

    it looks really really good….I personally don’t like to put things together like this, that’s why i have a really sweet sister who likes doing it 😛

    good job!

     

Leave a Reply

 
