RSS

You won’t catch ME making the same mistake twice…

21 Mar

Well, after yesterday when I slept past my alarm, I had learned my  lesson. I was not about to make the same mistake twice. Rather, I found a way to make a wildly different mistake that perhaps even outdid the first one.

Since my 3:00pm meeting was moved to today, I set two alarms — one for 1:00 and one for 1:15. And I was determined to get up with the first alarm. Sleeping through alarms is not a habit I want to get in to, you know?

So when I woke up this morning, I forced myself out of bed, shut off my second alarm, and took a shower. All the while, I was amazed with how tired I was. One o’clock is early, but it’s not that early — yet I felt quite delirious. I got out of the shower, went back into my room, and tried to mentally map out the rest of my day. I looked at the clock to see how I was doing for time. And I looked again. Deciding my clock was wrong, I got my wristwatch to check the real time. Unfortunately, by two witnesses, the thing was established. 9:15 AM. I had only slept for about an hour and a half. I should sleep for another six hours or so. And I was standing dumbly in the middle of my room with cold, drippy wet hair.

I’m still not sure how it happened. My phone never rang. Nobody was at the door. There was no thunder, slamming doors, or car horns that I know of. I somehow just woke up with the idea that it was time to wake up, six hours ahead of time.

On the upside, it saved me a lot of time getting ready when I actually did wake up to my second alarm (which I thankfully remembered to reset)… *sigh.*

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2007 in Life Happens..., Random

 

10 responses to “You won’t catch ME making the same mistake twice…

  1. emilymea

    March 21, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    You’re not alone in waking up insanely early. When I was working the 13 hour shifts at the call center I got home one night at midnight, set my alarm for 9 a.m., then woke up to the alarm at 3! Like you I didn’t realize the time till after taking a shower. The next morning my dad asked me whay I was doing up so early because I was in such a rush that I woke him up. Needless to say I am no longer working three 13 hour shifts a week…

     
  2. Christine

    March 21, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    How funny! I was in the kitchen (not that I stayed up that late or anything) when you got up and showered and everything. I figured it must be Melissa (who WOULD be up that early), but then I got really confused when no one came out after the shower. Now I understand.

    Well… good job. Making wildly different mistakes is a sign of being teachable and learning. It’s a good thing. And really amusing for the rest of us. 🙂

    Here’s hoping that you can wake up precisely when you mean to tomorrow.

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    March 21, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    Hah. That’s funny; I saw someone in the kitchen at 9:00, but couldn’t see quite around the corner to see who it was. I assumed YOU were Melissa.

     
  4. Christine

    March 22, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Haha. All moving bodies in the house between 8am and 10am automatically become Melissa. It’s a reasonable assumption, when everyone else in the house has a schedule that says they should be in bed at that time. Too bad we can’t count on ourselves to be asleep when we intend to, eh? Then we would not continually mistake one-another for Melissa (who was apparently already out of the house by the time I went up to the kitchen and you took your early shower.)

     
  5. Dorean

    March 22, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    So, you girls have an invisible friend named Melissa, huh? I thought people usually outgrew that by your age… 😉

     
  6. jareddiehl

    March 22, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    I have been oversleeping all week….I fell ya.

     
  7. Amanda Beattie

    March 22, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Mom: Wow. Melissa (our real flesh-and-blood roommate) will be upset to discover she’s imaginary.

    Jared: Gotta love early classes, yeah?

     
  8. zackhensley

    March 22, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Yeah Jared never gets up on time!!!

     
  9. Christine

    March 23, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Not imaginary… “invisible”. I think she might be kind of excited to learn that she is invisible. It might answer some questions for her. You know, things like, “Why do people walk into me all the time?” Maybe we should leave her a note on the board giving her the happy news.

     
  10. Emily

    March 30, 2007 at 2:21 am

    Is it wrong that after reading this post, I feel better about myself? I didn’t realize that other people actually DO stuff like this. I’m the Queen of completely checking out for 5 or 10 minutes at a time. (Unfortunately I’ve never been to “heaven”…..more like just La-La Land.) Anyhow, I have a newfound respect for you. :o)

     

Leave a Reply

 
