RSS

I Want to Stand in Your Counsel…

12 Mar

I was in the Prayer Room tonight, and Cassie Campbell started singing Luke Wood’s song (sorry if I get the words a little wrong):

I want to stand in Your counsel/And sit at Your table/And speak to You face to face as a friend…

I was completely pierced.  It was such a necessary reminder of what I’m after and what I came here to do. Even as I labor in school and leadership and everything I have going on from day to day, this is the heart of who I am. In all my doing and all my ministry, if I haven’t stood in His counsel, it benefits me nothing. If I haven’t met God and heard His voice and had His very fire touch my heart, not only will my witness be that much less effective, but I will become jaded and dull on the inside. I desperately don’t want that to happen. I can’t afford it.

Life is too short to not really know God. The hour is too urgent to prattle away with lofty sounding ideas that have nothing of the weight of heaven upon them. As exciting and glorious as it sounds to stand in the counsel of the Lord, it is more than that — it is a matter and life and death for those of us called to be His messengers. It is a matter of our hearts being alive and our witness being powerful, or our hearts growing cold and our words falling to the ground. He is coming back soon, and we must know His voice in that hour.

This journey is a painful one. As other lyrics in the song go, “Let my heart be torn in two until Your will is mine.” I personally am hitting head-on the reality of my barrenness in this area. I’m nowhere near where I want to be as far as hearing God and responding rightly when I do hear. But by the grace of God, I want to continue to say yes, continue to rise up and follow, and continue to cry out to hear His voice until the day I see Him face to face…

 
 

4 responses to “I Want to Stand in Your Counsel…

  1. standonthewall

    March 12, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    These have been my thoughts exactly lately….

     
  2. anita hensley

    March 12, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    i love that song, and i love Cassie!! thanks for sharing that… i enjoy reading your insights. i thank God for all of you beautiful night watchers and your standing in the night.

     
  3. Connie Prince

    March 19, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    I am listening to this powerfully moving song as I write. How can I get it? Does Luke have this on a CD yet? Or is it on any IHOP CD?
    Thanks!

     
  4. Amanda Beattie

    March 20, 2007 at 1:52 am

    I’m pretty sure it’s on the EP album he and Justin Rizzo put out. http://www.ihop.org/Shop/Sections/Items/Item.aspx?item_id=1000002623

     

Leave a Reply

 
