RSS

And the pictures…

10 Mar

So I actually remembered to get pictures of the final(ish) setup of my room. You can see for yourself why I’ve been pretty much out of touch for the last few days…

Okay, okay, so I understand this is kind of a cheesy post, but some people like pictures. Some people like interior decorating. I like excusing my lack of profundity for the past few days. I’ll get back on track soon, I promise.

So you’re getting a 270 degree panorama. Imagine yourself turning your head from left to right as you stand just inside my doorway, in jerky 90 degree increments, and this is about what view you’d get. The pictures are a little blurry because I had to choose between either getting a sharp image or getting decent color. The fourth wall is still big and blank because I’m going to be putting a desk there soon (yay), so as of yet, it’s not worth seeing. And I don’t think I’ll post a picture of the desk, because that seems kind of lame. Go to Sauder’s website and feast your eyes on desks all afternoon if you want to see one that bad.

Voila…

Wall 1...

Wall 2...

It's the other wall. What else were you expecting?

It was a lot of work, but it was fun… AND educational. I learned how to use “molly screws,” as my Dad calls them, or “hollow wall anchors,” as Lowe’s calls them. Yes, I was in Lowe’s on the phone with my Dad, trying to figure out what on earth I needed out of the mind-boggling array of hardware. It’s apparently humanly possible to mount any random thing you want to any vertical surface of your choosing. I’m not much of a handywoman I’m afraid. Although I am more of a handywoman now… I learned how to mount shelves and other heavy things on the wall, without having them fall off or rip holes in the plaster, or both. I was already aware of the “measure twice, beat big holes into the wall once” rule (or something like that), so I was very careful to make sure my spacing and leveling was correct. The shelves came out nice and level. The mirror… well…

I guess that's close enough...

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2007 in Life Happens...

 

11 responses to “And the pictures…

  1. Dorean

    March 10, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    The mirror isn’t your fault. It’s because the house is on a hill. You can’t help that… 😉

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    March 10, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    Oh, I feel better in that case. 😛

     
  3. emilymea

    March 10, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    It looks great. 🙂

     
  4. mollymosack

    March 10, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    I’m curious as to why your dad calls wall anchors ‘molly screws.’

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    March 10, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Emily: Thanks. 🙂 The genius behind the decoration is really my mom…

    Molly: I dunno. Apparently they were called that at some point. Maybe it’s a Northwesterner thing. 😀 Maybe he’ll drop by and leave a comment and enlighten us.

     
  6. brian

    March 11, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Molly Bolt are what I always heard them called. Hmmm.
    I just googled, and came up with 607,000 hits. This was the top one…
    http://www.naturalhandyman.com/iip/inffastener/infanchor/infanchor.shtm

     
  7. tracy enos

    March 11, 2007 at 11:11 am

    the room looks great! very comfy and cozy. Nice place to read those cool books I see on your shelf! I didn’t know you play the piano?
    tracy

     
  8. Amanda Beattie

    March 11, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    Dad: Molly BOLT, right. Thanks for setting us straight… 😀

    Tracy: Thanks. And I play the piano a little bit… note you’ve never seen me on stage. 😀

     
  9. Christine

    March 16, 2007 at 12:38 am

    I absolutely love the picture of the level. I came back to this post just to look at it again and laugh. Haha. Anyway, thanks for that.

     
  10. Amanda Beattie

    March 16, 2007 at 4:28 am

    Hah. You’re welcome…?

    Well, I’ll be sure and keep the level handy, so when you get back you can admire my lack of skill any time you like. Won’t have the red circle on it though.

     
  11. Christine

    March 16, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    🙂 But the red circle (accompanied by “Blast”) is part of what I love most about it. Maybe you can make one out of red construction paper… or a red marker and an overhead transparancy… or any clear plastic of your choice.

    I won’t be back until Monday… so you have a bit of time to work on it. (Never mind your commentary and all of that.)

     

Leave a Reply

 
