RSS

Typos – the bane of my existence

04 Mar

I’m an editor/proofreader. Typos drive me up the wall — yet I myself am plagued incessantly with them. Certain words continually defy my typing ability and always manage to show up on my screen in some mutilated form. After a few hours of particularly unsuccessful typing on my commentary, I was motivated to make a blog out of it. Here are a few of my worst as far as frequency:

Jeuss – the Son of God. Yeah. That’s a particularly unfortunate typo. And I do it a whole lot. Less frequently, but just as wrong, is the typo “Chirst.” Very rarely these two typos are combined into a gloriously embarrassing “Jeuss Chirst.” I’m glad He’s got a sense of humor and a graciousness for my lack of coordination.

taht – The opposite of “this.”

could – Sure, it looks like a real word. It’s deceptive that way. But I have yet to see a fluffy white could floating in the sky.

htem – More than one him/her.

boyd – One’s physical frame. Results in other typos, such as “everboyd” and “noboyd” and “anyboyd,” etc.

form – Another deceptive word, the opposite of “to.”

jealously – Supposed to be “jealousy.” Somehow I always stick the letter L in there. It’s not even anywhere near the s or y. I don’t get it.

So you have two options available to you right now: 1) Simply read the list above and laugh at me, or 2) Comment with some of your own favorite typos below and laugh with me. Btu it’s oaky, noboyd is udner an ypressure to do one or teh ohter.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2007 in Random

 

24 responses to “Typos – the bane of my existence

  1. Jess Gliserman

    March 4, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    Because of doing screens in the PR so much, I’m always capitalizing “He’s” and “You’s” even when they aren’t referring to God. I do it in my schoolwork, I do it when I’m journaling, I do it all the time…it’s bad.

    I also, probably because our names have similar lettering (isn’t that cool! =D), frequently type Jesus’ name kind of like I type my name. It comes out looking like “Jessus” or something…

     
  2. Dorean

    March 4, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Hi Amanda,

    I share “htat” with you…

    I commonly have “teh”… (Just as an aside, I just typoed “commonly” three times before getting it right! Oh, the irony…)

    I used to spell the name “Brian” as “Brain”, but over the years it has mophed into “Brina”. (For those who don’t know me, this is a problem for me, since my husband’s name is Brian!)

    When I start a sentence with the word “Anyway”, it comes out “ANyway”. A lot!

    Good grief!

     
  3. Dorean

    March 4, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Oops.. More irony… Try “morphed”, not “mophed”… Maybe I need a nap… Or a secretary….

     
  4. Sarah Sun Kim

    March 4, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I can totally empathize with you. I started out as a copy editor.

    I think it was e e cummings who said that a poet can tolerate anything but a typo. And the poet that thou art, I can understand why these pesky fumblings of the fingers can get under thy skin!

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    March 5, 2007 at 12:35 am

    @ Jess: I hear you. I have to keep reminding myself that “he” is not a proper noun…

    @ Mom: I had totally forgotten about “Brain.” I want to call you Pinky now. But I guess you favor “Brina” enough now that I don’t get to do that.

    @ Sarah: “A poet can tolerate anything but a typo…” I love it. I have got to remember that quote. It’s very true…

     
  6. ChriS

    March 5, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Amanda,

    Your blog is listed on my blogroll which is the most complete listing of IHOP bloggers under the Son…Please consider adding me to yours.

    http://www.prayershake.blogspot.com

     
  7. Christine

    March 5, 2007 at 8:31 am

    I seem to share all of Dorean’s. Well, except for the Brian thing. I have little reason to be typing (or mistyping) that one. And I also share the issue of capitalizing “you” when I shouldn’t. (I also blame that on screens.)

    My additions:
    wronge (which is clearly wrong!)

    florified… and various arrangements of the letters that make swiftly (I think I’ve tried every letter in every possition at least five times.) You know, “let your word run switfly and be florified.”

    sould … I don’t get this one at all. It’s soul. But I keep adding the d again and again.

    – I often type me instead of my. (“You restore me sould”) It has led to many a pirate joke.

    – I’ve only done this once, but I actually put this up on screens the other night. “Noqa” instead of “Now”. I know… sad. (I’d previously put a wrong word up, so I was in a hurry to fix it. Some correction, eh?)

     
  8. totaltransformation

    March 5, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Often my fingers type “their” when they mean “there.” I know the difference, my fingers just get ahead of me.

     
  9. Emily Mea

    March 5, 2007 at 10:58 am

    I have to admit that I typo my name quite a bit. Instead of “Emily Meagan” it often turns into “Emliy Maegan” when I’m typing fast. I also do “taht” instead of “that” and “ocme” instead of “come.”

    I’m sure I’ll come up with more later, but that’s all for now.

     
  10. Emily Mea

    March 5, 2007 at 11:43 am

    Found another one – “and” instead of “an.”

    Yep, I knew writing an entry on my blog would show me some of the ones I’m always doing.

     
  11. Kacie

    March 5, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    i am disturbed by typos as well. my problem, however, is that i type faster than i think. i also type above the keys really fast, only using home row as a place to rest my fingertips when i pause (it’s funny to watch, actually; i come back to home row completely unintentionally, but always, without fail).

    in that last sentence, i had about five typos. but i’ve become so avid an odd-typer, that i notice the typo as i type (i also don’t look at the screen; i recognize the typos because i watch my fingers hit wrong keys and then i fix it immediately, mostly, again, without much intentionality).

    screens has also ruined me. i type so many things wrong that’s ridiculous. but rarely would the room ever know; apparently, as according to bret mavrich, i never mess up (i think he just doesn’t always watch… i’ve put some pretty good ones up there).

    my favorite is praying for the “Chruch of Kanas City” (i tell you, i do that one about once a night…).

    i also favor prayers from the letters to the “phillipains” and the “thessalonions”, but that’s just between you and me…

    oh, and @ christine: yarr, matey. ; )

     
  12. Jess Gliserman

    March 5, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    @ Christine: “Let Your Word run swiftly and be glorified” always seems to come out wrong for me. And someone ALWAYS does a chorus like that, without fail, every intercession set I do.

    Just today in the 4pm I had “Gad” up on the screen instead of “God,” and once during the Tuesday 4pm instead of “Luke” I typed “Like”…bad bad, very very bad.

     
  13. Kyle

    March 5, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    i love typos, especially on wordasts…wordcasts. that’s right. no bl#*s here. only wordcasts…sorry, i digress…because typos capture the raw, unedited, semi-spontaneous nature of wordcasting.

     
  14. Kacie

    March 6, 2007 at 6:33 am

    wordcasting schmerdcasting, kyle… i say: BLOG! BLOG! BLOG!

     
  15. Christine

    March 6, 2007 at 6:50 am

    I personally think that people should put enough effort into their blogs to correct typos. But… I guess if all the wordcasters out there want to leave typos, I’m cool with that. I’ll just stick with the bloggers. :-p

    Another one I do all the time in the PR… “Pour our Your Spirit” Did it tonight, again. Seriously… that many consecutive “o-u” words that are followed by a letter typed by the left index finger is just wrong. How am I supposed to NOT make that t an r like it is in the surrounding words?

     
  16. Dorean

    March 6, 2007 at 11:24 am

    Amanda: You can call me Pinky. Especially since I do an awesome “Narf!”.

     
  17. Amanda Beattie

    March 6, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    @ Kyle and Kacie: I will continue to be all things to all people. Dave Sliker has a wordcast. Christine has a blog. That way, everyone’s happy, right? (Actually, everyone’s bugged becasue I’m actually managing to use the anathema word for both sides.)

    @ Christine: Ooh… “out” is a good one. I crunch it to “our” all the time

    @ Mom: I’m going to start calling you randomly and ask you if you’re pondering what I’m pondering. Better have some comebacks ready. 😀

     
  18. Dorean

    March 6, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Yes, I thinks so, Amanda, but where would we get four tons of string cheese?

     
  19. brian

    March 7, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Does it count if you leave out whole words and phrases?
    I have to be the worlds worst typist; I type way slower than I think. Worse yet, I can re-read what I have written forgotten what goes in the middle.

    pritn also belongs in my hall of shame.

     
  20. gottabkd

    March 7, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Mine are you for your, them for then, and your for yours.

    But then again, as long as the first and the last letters are correct, the brain will fill in the rest, so no worries are needed.
    Check this article out and prove it to yourself: http://gottabkd.wordpress.com/2007/01/27/can-you-read-this-bet-you-can/

     
  21. Jenn S. (a.k.a. Ducky)

    March 9, 2007 at 1:32 am

    I too am an editor/proofreader; my pet peeves in typing include htat (a variant of taht), nad (and), and liek (like). I also have done a bit of transcription work…oh the pain of typos!

     
  22. mscrankypants

    March 14, 2007 at 1:35 am

    “brian for brain” (opposite of the earlier mentioned brain for brian problem)

    “lesions for lessons” (God has taught me some great lesions … )

    “children for chicken” (this is a HUGE problem because I do a lot of cooking-related writing … professionally! … I can’t even begin to tell you how often I’ve typed something about cooking the children … fortunately I always catch it … but it’s more than a little bit unnerving to tell people to debone or shred or stew their children!)

     
  23. Amanda Beattie

    March 14, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    “children for chicken” might just be the winner. That’s awesome. And awkward. Aweskward?

     

Leave a Reply

 
