RSS

One of my finer on-stage moments

20 Feb

I was prayer leading tonight, when our lighting director, a lovely, multi-talented, and overall cool person named Charity, came up to me. She was adjusting the stage lights, and needed me to help her test them. She asked me to walk back and forth across the front of the stage so she could see if it was evenly lit. I thought it was a bit of an odd request, but I agreed to it. Why not?

I thought she meant across the front of the stage, as in the floor right in front of the stage, down where we don’t want people pacing. She meant across the front of the stage, actually on the stage, in front of the worship team. After another brief conversation to sort that out, I agreed (much less willingly) to do it.

I would love to know what went through my team’s minds as I made my way aimlessly across the stage, in full, beautiful, bright lighting, with no obvious purpose but to stand in front of the keyboards. And then back. And then forth. And then back again.

I have never been so painfully aware of the webcast as I was that moment.

Oh, well. Someone had to do it. Hope my face wasn’t too red. It was truly one of my awesomer moments on the platform.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2007 in Life Happens..., Night Watch, Random

 

12 responses to “One of my finer on-stage moments

  1. Kacie

    February 20, 2007 at 7:40 am

    i was wondering how much the thought of the webcast was racing through your mnd when i saw you go back and forth. i just chuckled to myself and said “well, at least the peple in China get to see how awesome a servant that amanda beattie is… even at the risk of looking somewhat strangely out of place, she just goes with it and serves this house.” i like you. you looked so cute up there walking back and forth. : )

     
  2. Christine

    February 20, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    Oh man, I missed it. I watched part of the set, but we decided to watch Life is Beautiful last night. (We also rented Hotel Rawanda… there’s a definite lack of sad movies in our house… my mom hated them.)

    Anyway, I’m sad that I missed it. Can you do it tonight too? A purposeful walk across the stage is one thing, but to do it for no reason…

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    February 20, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Kacie: Well, now you know…

    Christine, to your first paragraph: I was wondering actually if you had tuned in to that set.
    To your second paragraph: Not a chance.

     
  4. Christine

    February 20, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Oh well… I tried. I guess I could try making a call to Charity in the next few hours. 🙂

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    February 20, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    I think we should wait to test the lights again until you’re back in town, so you can experience the thrill of serving the IHOP in that way, too.

     
  6. Emily Mea

    February 20, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    I wish I would have been there to see that – or have at the very least been tuned in to the P.R.

     
  7. Christine

    February 21, 2007 at 1:40 am

    Great sadness… I tried connecting to the webstream all through tonight’s set and had no luck. It made me very sad. Very, very sad. Tremendously sad. Sad.

     
  8. Amanda Beattie

    February 21, 2007 at 4:09 am

    I didn’t wander aimlessly across the stage at all, if that softens the blow any. :}

     
  9. Steve & Amanda

    February 23, 2007 at 3:25 am

    i guess that kind of like meekness training. humility???

     
  10. Amanda Beattie

    February 23, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    If it was humility training, did I just forfeit my reward by telling people about it?

     
  11. mollymosack

    March 5, 2007 at 4:07 am

    You can have another chance at it by just doing it again…:)

     
  12. Amanda Beattie

    March 5, 2007 at 4:28 am

    I think I’d rather take the low road by letting one of my fabulous colleagues do it next time. Wouldn’t want to hog all the Millennial benefit for myself.

     

Leave a Reply

 
