RSS

One thing I actually miss about being an intern…

19 Feb

I was in Starbucks immediately following service tonight, working on editing our commentary, when I overheard a nearby group of OneThing interns talking. They were somewhat disgruntled about their curfew at 11:00pm, meaning they only had about two hours of free time.

Rub it in, guys.

Two hours in a row free, followed by an early bedtime? I can’t think of a single Night Watch staff person who wouldn’t be excited at the prospect.

But I remember my intern days — and yeah, curfew was sometimes a pain, and I somehow thought I didn’t have much free time. If only I could see me now. Oh wait. I do see me now. I mean, if only I could see me now back then… er… I mean…

I think this is my cue to stop talking.

On a less sarcastic note, be looking for installment 3 of the theology posts soon…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2007 in Life Happens..., Night Watch, Random

 

5 responses to “One thing I actually miss about being an intern…

  1. Emily Mea

    February 19, 2007 at 1:17 am

    I want 2 hours of free time and an early bedtime!!!! Its funny, I didn’t feel I had that much free time during track 1, but now I’m home (and always busy) and I miss all the free time I really did have. I’m looking forward to actually having free time again. I feel like my life is on continual GBF hours – 12 hours days three days a week – only its not in the prayer room, and the blue chairs I sit in rock, and I have to talk to people all day – so its not the GBF at all. Plus family stuff and church – wow, life as an intern is easy.

    Amanda, I think the phrase you’re looking for up there is “If I only knew then what I know now…”

     
  2. Amanda Beattie

    February 19, 2007 at 1:51 am

    Nah. I mean pretty much the jumbled mess that I said. 🙂 Fits the situation pretty appropriately.

     
  3. breezybird

    February 19, 2007 at 3:19 am

    Hey Amanda, I agree and I appreciate the idea of TIME more now than ever before, the great thing though is: ultimatly we are in control of our time so we can push back or pile on more as needed, or should I say directed by the Holy Spirit!

     
  4. Amanda Beattie

    February 19, 2007 at 4:16 am

    This is true. Although full time FSM puts a crimp on some of those hours. 🙂

     
  5. Emily Mea

    February 19, 2007 at 5:01 am

    🙂 I tried… if you can’t tell, its my night off from work (actually I took a few days off – I’m too stressed out so time off is good). I need to go finish cleaning now… its hard trying to clean house when someone else at home
    (my dad) is sleeping.

     

Leave a Reply

 
