RSS

Paul on Follow-Through

24 Jan

2 Corinthians 8:10-12

“And in this I give advice: It is to your advantage not only to be doing what you began and were desiring to do a year ago; but now you also must complete the doing of it; that as there was a readiness to desire it, so there also may be a completion out of what you have.”

Paul was specifically writing to the Corinthians about following through with an offering that they had decided to give to the church in Jerusalem. Their enthusiasm for the project had cooled significantly, and now Paul is encouraging them to get back in the game. This is not just for the sake of being legalistic. This is not just for the sake of doing it because it must be done. He tells them, it is to your advantage…

Faithfulness and follow-through are so key to our walk with the Lord. Yes, it’s important for the sake of the people we committed to. We serve others by being dependable and by letting our “yes” be “yes.” But it’s also terrifically beneficial to us.

Our heart grows in loving God as we learn to walk in faithfulness, in a spirit of truth. The more we cultivate faithfulness and integrity in our own lives, the more we are conformed into Jesus’ image. We learn to lean on Him and His grace as we follow through — even when it’s hard, even when it’s not fun, even when it would be easy to get out of it. If we have a vision before us of living lives radically committed to God, knowing that it truly benefits us in the long haul, it will be easier to persevere. We’re not doing it just because it’s a noble thing to do. We’re doing it because we benefit from it immensely.

I remember Mike Bickle speaking of integrity once, of it being what happens when nobody’s watching you.  In light of that:

Visitors to Meditations by Night

Yep. That’s the visitor count. (It’s okay, you can laugh. I’m laughing too.)

BUT, I still intend to post daily, or near daily, on here. For me, to bring to completion what I began here a few days ago is very beneficial. I’m really enjoying sitting down at my computer and having to ask myself, “Now, there’s got to be something I’ve learned over the past 24 hours…” And thus far, there always is.

So for whoever is actually still reading, I hope you enjoy it as much as I am. 🙂 And I do hope you were as amused as I am that I used scriptural support to substantiate my randomly chucking posts into the oblivion of cyberspace.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 24, 2007 in 2 Corinthians, Bible

 

Leave a Reply

 
