RSS

When “God dreams” feel like “pizza dreams”

23 Jan

The slightly compulsive side of me must make a qualifier before I jump into my post. The previous post I made shows the date as Tues, Jan 23. Today’s post also shows Tues, Jan 23. But at 5:00am, when I made my previous post, it was clearly still Monday, according to my Night Watch schedule. Today, it is clearly Tuesday, because I have had a full night’s sleep between then and now. So don’t be fooled. I am not double-posting on the same day. WordPress simply doesn’t understand NightSpeak, that’s all.

I feel satisfied now. Let’s continue.

I’ve known several people throughout my life who, when they have a “God dream,” it’s astounding spiritual stuff. They would say something like, “I had the craziest dream last night – I saw a big glowing angel with a rainbow on his head, handing me a scroll and telling me to eat it – do you think that’s from the Lord?” Um, yeah, I’d say so.

Perhaps you’ve known some of these people. Perhaps you are one of these people. In that case, I’m very happy for you.

I am most definitely not one of those people. Those kind of people wake up saying, “I heard the Lord!” I wake up going, “What on earth was that?” Sometimes I wake up knowing that I heard the Lord – but it is a rare thing that I wake up actually having a clue of what the point was.

Fortunately, I have a message of comfort for all of us in this category. I’m taking a class on Zechariah right now, which kicks off with Zechariah’s eight night visions. These are not technically dreams, but I still claim them for an analogy. The visions are (of course) extremely prophetic, interpreted by an angel right there in person.

Today, almost 2,500 years later, people still can’t agree on what they all mean. And Zechariah needed an angelic visitation to clue him in. So if you have trouble interpreting your dreams, take heart – you just may be the next Zechariah.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 23, 2007 in Life Happens..., Night Watch, Zechariah

 

One response to “When “God dreams” feel like “pizza dreams”

  1. christinewas

    January 27, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Remember that night when I found the Bible I had just dreampt about? That was crazy.

    Apart from those rare, obvious things… I have to say I’m definitely in the league of “What on earth was that?” dreamers.

    Hmmm… apart from dreams, there are very few contexts in which it is easy to confuse Pizza the Lord. Praise God for that! I don’t worship a deep dish, extra cheese!

     

Leave a Reply

 
