RSS

Minister = Bondservant

22 Jan

Work continues slowly but surely on our commentary for APP. I’ve edited many things in my day, but this is the first time I’ve edited anything with multiple contributors – gosh, is it a different animal. I’m trying to streamline everyone’s comments without destroying everyone’s voice. It’s a definite challenge,  but I do find that I’m enjoying it. We’ll see how enjoyable it still is once I run the edits past my team for approval… I work with some pretty cool people, though, so I’m not too worried.

The perk of working with multiple authors, however, is the breadth of revelation I get to read that I would not acheive on my own. I’m looking forward to learning from each of our contributing authors. One of my fellow students/co-authors, C.J., emailed me his notes today. I’ve been working on incorporating his very insightful stuff into the project, and I was particularly struck by his comments on 2 Corinthians 4:5.

The verse states, “For we do not preach ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord, and ourselves your bondservants for Jesus’ sake.” C.J. had two paragraphs of revelation on two words. Your bondservants. 

To sum up what C.J. said, it was a common thing for Paul to refer to himself as a bondservant of Christ (see Rom 1:1; Gal 1:10; Col 4:12; Titus 1:1). Yet here, Paul refers to himself as your bondservant – a bondservant to the Corinthians. But becoming a bondservant of Christ means becoming a bondservant of the people He died for. It’s a classic case of how embracing the First Commandment (love the Lord your God) naturally leads to fulfillment of the Second (love your neighbor). It’s a matter of emulating Jesus, who was a bondservant of all (Phil 2:7). Laying down our lives for Him equals laying down our lives for those He died for.

Amazing stuff. When I read that self-same passage in my own study, it didn’t even occur to me to pause at those two words. Hence the value of multiple authorship.

I love my team.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2007 in 2 Corinthians, Bible

 

2 responses to “Minister = Bondservant

  1. Charity Bates

    January 22, 2007 at 5:50 am

    This is one thing I love about reading other people’s blogs, I get to glean the revelation that comes from deep lives of prayer and contemplation. Today I get the double treat of getting revelation form both Amanda and C.J, two people who I look up to in the P.R. Thank you for taking the time to write down these thoughts and meditations, I love it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
