RSS

Praying in the Spirit

20 Jan

Yesterday afternoon (which still feels like today for me… gotta love Night Watch), Corey Russell came and spoke at our APP practicum class. He exhorted us to spend more time daily praying in tongues. One thing he said particularly struck me: “Praying in tongues is key to the apostolic.”

Now there’s a bold statement.

To support this point, he directed us to Paul’s somewhat blunt remark in 1 Corinthians 14:18 – “I thank my God I speak with tongues more than you all.”

By golly, if it was good enough for the apostle Paul, then it’s good enough for me. It’s hard to argue with a man who church-planted like crazy, saw thousands of people saved, raised people from the dead, and wrote most of the New Testament.

I’ve got a long way to go before I can show Paul up as far as how much I pray in tongues — goodness, I’ve got an incredibly long way to go before I can even show Corey up — but that little sermonette really provoked me to be more intentional about praying in the Spirit. Sure, I do it, but there’s so much farther I could go with it. 

Since I’m relatively prone to put stuff off and intend to get to it “someday,” I knew I would need some help and a very specific schedule.

So what did I do? I did what any red-blooded core leader would do.  Rope the interns into it.

I pitched the idea to them last night in our burn team briefing. The plan is we’re going to start meeting a half-hour early for our prayer room time on Fridays. Once we’re there, we’ll just pray in the Spirit, Bible and journal at the ready, listening to what the Lord may have to say. We’re going to keep meeting over these next three months and just see what the Lord does.

Almost all of them jumped into the idea with a lot of enthusiasm. I’ll have at least four or five ladies praying with me in that room, with the other three to join us at our normal briefing time. I can’t wait to see what God does with our little group…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2007 in Heart Stuff, Night Watch

 

9 responses to “Praying in the Spirit

  1. brian

    January 20, 2007 at 9:32 am

    I like your new blog. I see you seeded it from your last eCamping ground.

    You’re becoming quite the eNomad.

    Reminds me a little of Isaac wandering, where he would dig a well, build an altar, and call on the Name of the Lord. How would Genesis be different if there were forewarding URL’s?

    ‘Course, I’m writing from the land of “George Washington slept here”, apparently everywhere…

     
  2. matthartke

    January 20, 2007 at 11:20 am

    This is WAY better than your blogspot. Not that I didn’t like the pink, I loved it! But I felt embarassed every time I went to it, looking over my shoulder making sure none of my guy friends saw the glow of pink pixels coming from my screen.

     
  3. Amanda Beattie

    January 20, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    haha Matt. I didn’t like the pink much myself, but it was the lesser of several evils as far as what layout I liked.

    I’m totally converted. I already like WordPress way better, and I’m still busy learning the ropes for it…

     
  4. Grandpa

    January 20, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    I like your new blogosphere, but then, I liked the old one too.

    I’m interested in your prayer experiences, but I have some reservations about the concept of “praying in tongues”. I have spent a lot of time studying this issue and reading testimonies and comments on this and I believe there is good ground for many believers today rejecting tongues as it is currently practiced in some assemblies. But I accept that Paul tesified that he “spoke in tongues more than them all”, with the one caveat: he was a Hebrew, ministering (in part) to Hebrews, which is the reason for tongues in the first place according to Scripture.

    But when you talk about praying in the Spirit, then I am all onboard with you. There is simply no greater ministry or worship than that. Keep up the good work.

     
  5. Steve & Amanda

    January 21, 2007 at 12:45 am

    im so glad interns and fsm students are jumping in to the prep rooms! swing into the 3pm rooms, I’ll be leading Mon-Fri and we have lots of room still!

     
  6. Amanda Beattie

    January 21, 2007 at 12:53 am

    Good to know! I have class at 3pm every day, but I’ll try to remember to refer my interns to the meetings. I bet one or two of them might go for it.

     
  7. Nikolay Elenberg

    April 28, 2007 at 11:12 am

    To:Praying in Tongues- Leader,
    From: Nikolay Elenberg, Binghamton,N.Y.13905, nelenberg@aol.com, Tel/Fax:1-607-797-4651

    Dear Leader,

    I am from Russia. I can Praying in Tongues long hours.
    Therefore in May,1999,year i stop feel hanger on
    usual food: bread,water,meat,vegetables and an other. After May,99, my food- Praying in Tongues long hours.
    After May,99, i drink only milk with Honey and juice. This is incredible but fact.

    I can Teach and long hours
    Intercessory Praying in Tongues.

    Nikolay Elenberg

     
  8. holyyoly

    May 29, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    praying in tongues is the way to go i started nearly a year ago and i cant stop i love it .God has trully given us this weapon against the enemy and all we have to do is open our mouths and the Holy SPIRIT will do the rest.

     

Leave a Reply

 
