RSS

He remembers we are dust

19 Aug

Psalm 103:14 “For He knows our frame; He remembers that we are dust.”

This is one of the most comforting Scriptures I’ve read in a long time.

 With my personality, it is all too easy to put too much pressure on myself and expect to perform to some kind of superhuman standard. When I make a mistake or when I grow tired and weak, I almost always end up kicking myself. I should be stronger. I should know better. I shouldn’t be suceptible to… to what? Usually, from an honest standpoint, I automatically resist being susceptible to basic human weakness.

The funny thing is that from a young age, I hated being called “perfect”. For a while, that was quite possibly the most aggravating thing someone could say to tease me. Granted, I always hated getting in trouble, and so took great pains to behave myself. But perfect? Not a chance. I knew better. I lived with me. I saw everything (good bad and ugly) that went through my head. I knew that there were plenty of broken, dark places in my life that still needed redeeming. I was terrified of being put on a pedestal that I couldn’t live up to.

So you would think that, with such an aversion to the term, “perfect,” I would have a little grace with myself when I goofed.

Yeah. Not so much.

God has been working on me a lot in that area since I’ve come to IHOP-KC. But I suspect it’s one of those onion-y kind of things, where it comes off layer by layer (and occasionally makes you cry…). Every now and then it will rear its head, and I get to confess it, repent of it, and try to remember that it’s all about God’s strength, not mine. Then everything is much rosier until another layer starts to peel off…

This perfectionism pride is a subtle little monster. In fact, I didn’t fully realize I had fallen into it again until I read that verse in Psalms. “…He remembers that we are dust.”

It’s hard to explain the wave of relief I felt as I read. While I had been busy wondering what my deal was, why I felt certain things and why I couldn’t do certain things, God knew my frame and remembered that I am dust. He wasn’t getting impatient with me like I was getting impatient with me. He knew that I’m a work in progress, being renewed day by day, growing some, learning some, tripping up some. He knew that I’m still weak and immature in so many ways, but wanting and working to grow. He wasn’t surprised when I hit the wall — which is certainly more than I can say about myself.

Yet He still loved me. He still was kind and gentle with my heart. He wasn’t even annoyed. I was the only one who was peeved at my weakness.

It was time for me to readjust my perspective.

There is an eternity ahead of us with resurrected bodies and non-existant sin natures. There is an age to come where we will no longer feel the effects of the fall. One day we will be made like Jesus when we see Him as He is.

Until that day, take heart and enjoy the journey. He knows our frame.

 

15 responses to “He remembers we are dust

  1. Dorean Beattie

    August 19, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Oh, my… You have no idea how timely this was…

     
  2. Lauren

    August 19, 2007 at 10:19 am

    Pride is a nasty little thing we have given so many names to lessen its negativity. Thanks for calling it what it is…and reminding me of the Lord’s gentleness towards me in the midst of it.

    Your mom is right. It’s amazing (and wonderful) that we live in a community of people who hear the word of the Lord and give it in the correct time. Today, you are one of those people.

    You should come to dinner Thursday. We missed you last week…

     
  3. Jenn S. (a.k.a. Ducky)

    August 19, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Wow. That really blessed me and convicted me at the same time.

     
  4. belovedofgod

    August 19, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    good word amanda!

     
  5. Amanda Beattie

    August 20, 2007 at 2:32 am

    Lauren: I’m planning on it. The current time slot is a little trickier for me to get to, and I’ll be a bit late most weeks, but I’d love to come whenever I can.

    Mom, Jenn, and Meg: Thanks for the comments. I’m glad it ministered to you. :)

     
  6. Shelley P

    August 20, 2007 at 9:19 am

    Very timely for me too. I like to call myself a “recovering perfectionist”. If that is true, I fell off the wagon this weekend. I needed to hear this. Thanks!

     
  7. Amanda Beattie

    August 20, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Shelley: I hear you. But, if I may venture a suggestion, I think you probably didn’t fall off the wagon (implying a loss of ground). I would guess that the Lord is just peeling off another layer. It’s that onion-y thing.

    Blessings!

     
  8. eyesandwings

    August 22, 2007 at 10:36 am

    thanks amanda for writing this. it was really freeing to hear this. i’ve been meditating on it for the last couple days.

     
  9. Dorean Beattie

    August 23, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    So, do you get paid extra to hear God for the rest of us? ;-)

     
  10. Amanda

    November 24, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Thank you for sharing this! I need this reminder myself sometimes, more often than I’d like to think for sure!

    By the way, glad to find your blog! I saw your name on the IHOP/OneThing site, and saw that you are also a flutist! I’m glad to find another flutist God chaser out there! :) Thank you for your inspiration from your blog as you share about your own journey with God and a life seeking undivided devotion to Him.

     
  11. Amanda Beattie

    November 24, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Amanda: Thanks for commenting. :) Keep God-chasing.

     
  12. Karyn Brailsford (nee Read)

    February 16, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Gidday Amanda and your (and my!) sisters in Christ who’ve written above. I found your Blog today after searching “He remembers that we are dust” ’cause I couldn’t remember the reference and I was thinking on this verse because I was feeling frustrated and dissatisfied with myself and my life – a fallen human in a fallen world. In fact I believe this truth refers to simply being human (not necessarily a fallen one)- in the same way Jesus experienced while here on Earth. The reason this verse was my answer today was because in my frustration I was seeking escape – in watching TV aimlessly, or practicing a destructive habit that I struggle with but then I remembered – hey! I know a much better thing to do when I feel so yuck: I’ll talk with God, after all, He knows and is the answer to this problem ie my human frame. And so, it’s not just an analgesic to spend time w/ Him, but a true comfort.

     
  13. Pamela Williams

    August 12, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    I am so hard on myself, i needed to be reminded. I don’t know where i get the habit of being so self-critical, but today i am putting it off. In to the Savior’s hands.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

